Doors, The - L.A. Woman [LP+3CD] (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition, remastered)

Hot Tracks

$ 79.98 


50th Anniversary Numbered, Limited Edition 180g LP & 3CD Set!
Original Album Newly Remastered By Bruce Botnick!
More Than Two Hours Of Unreleased Recordings!

The Doors found their mojo (and Mr. Mojo Risin') in November 1970 as they recorded L.A. Woman over six days at the Workshop, the band's rehearsal space on Santa Monica Boulevard. A success both critically and commercially, the album was certified double-platinum and contains some of the band's most enduring music, including the Top 20 hit "Love Her Madly," "Riders On The Storm," and the title track.

To commemorate the album's 50-year anniversary, Rhino keeps on risin' with a 3-CD/1-LP set. L.A. Woman: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original album newly remastered by The Doors' longtime engineer and mixer, Bruce Botnick, two bonus discs of unreleased studio outtakes, and the stereo mix of the original album on 180-gram virgin vinyl. The music will also be available from digital and streaming services the same day, as will a new Dolby Atmos mix of the original album by Botnick.

For this new collection, the original album has been expanded with more than two hours of unreleased recordings taken from the sessions for L.A. Woman, allowing the listener to experience the progression of each song as it developed in the studio. An early demo for "Hyacinth House," recorded at Robby Krieger's home studio in 1969, is also included.

The outtakes feature Jim Morrison, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, and Ray Manzarek working in the studio with two additional musicians. The first was rhythm guitarist Marc Benno, who worked with Leon Russell in The Asylum Choir. The other was bassist Jerry Scheff, who was a member of Elvis Presley's TCB band.

In the studio, Botnick says the band took a more organic approach to recording instead of starting and stopping repeatedly to achieve technical perfection. "The previously unreleased reels here - serial takes of 'The Changeling,' 'Love Her Madly,' 'Riders On The Storm,' and 'L.A. Woman' - depict a band obsessed with groove while executing turns and flourishes with the precision of a well-drilled soul combo...The idea was to go from song to song, to let it flow."

Among the outtakes of album tracks, you can also hear the band joyously ripping through the kinds of classic blues songs that Morrison once described as "original blues." There are great takes of Junior Parker's "Mystery Train," John Lee Hooker's "Crawling King Snake," Big Joe Williams' "Baby Please Don't Go," and "Get Out Of My Life Woman," Lee Dorsey's funky 1966 classic, written by his producer Allen Toussaint.

In the collection's extensive liner notes, veteran rock journalist David Fricke explores the whirlwind making of the album, which would be the last with Morrison, who died in Paris a few months after its release. "Morrison may never have come back to The Doors," he writes. "But with his death, L.A. Woman became rebirth, achievement, and finale, all at once. It's the blues too - original blues, as Morrison promised. Fifty years later, there is still nothing like it."


  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
  • 180g Virgin Vinyl LP: Original 1971 Stereo Mix Newly Remastered by Bruce Botnick
  • CD: Original 1971 Stereo Mix Newly Remastered by Bruce Botnick
  • 2 Bonus CDs: Unreleased Studio Outtakes
  • More than 2 Hours of Unreleased Recordings
  • Early 1969 Demo of "Hyacinth House"
  • Extensive Liner Notes by David Fricke
  • 12x12 Hardcover Book Packaging
  • Made in Germany


LP (Original Stereo Mix Remastered)

  1. The Changeling
  2. Love Her Madly
  3. Been Down So Long
  4. Cars Hiss By My Window
  5. L.A. Woman
  1. L'America
  2. Hyacinth House
  3. Crawling King Snake
  4. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)
  5. Riders On The Storm

CD1 (Original Stereo Mix Remastered)

  1. The Changeling
  2. Love Her Madly
  3. Been Down So Long
  4. Cars Hiss By My Window
  5. L.A. Woman
  6. L'America
  7. Hyacinth House
  8. Crawling King Snake
  9. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)
  10. Riders On The Storm
  11. Hyacinth House (Demo Recorded at Robby Krieger's Home Studio, 1969) - Bonus Track
  12. Riders On The Storm (Sunset Sound Version) - Bonus Track

CD2 (L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 1)

  1. The Changeling (Previously Unreleased)
  2. Lover Her Madly (Previously Unreleased)
  3. Riders On The Storm (Previously Unreleased)
  4. L.A. Woman (Part 1) [Previously Unreleased]

CD3 (L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 2)

  1. L.A. Woman (Part 2) [Previously Unreleased]
  2. She Smells So Nice (Previously Unreleased)
  3. Rock Me Baby (Previously Unreleased)
  4. Mr. Mojo Risin' (Previously Unreleased)
  5. Baby Please Don't Go (Previously Unreleased)
  6. L.A. Woman (Part 3) [Previously Unreleased]
  7. Been Down So Long (Previously Unreleased)
  8. Get Out Of My Life Woman (Previously Unreleased)
  9. Crawling King Snake (Previously Unreleased)
  10. The Bastard Son Of Jimmy & Mama Reed (Cars Hiss By My Window) [Previously Unreleased]
  11. Been Down So Long (Previously Unreleased)
  12. Mystery Train (Previously Unreleased)
  13. The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat) [Previously Unreleased]

2021 Elektra