DEVO - Art Devo 1973-1977 [3LP] ('Rubber Gloves' Multicolor Vinyl, limited to 1000)

Hot Tracks

$ 59.98 

  • Limited to 1,000 copies!
  • Pressed on 3xLP Rubber Gloves Colored Vinyl!
  • Liner notes by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V Casale

Futurismo present a new version of DEVO’s highly celebrated and sold-out box set release - ART DEVO 1973-1977. Now available as a 3xLP in a choice of limited colours.

The release all hardcore Devo fans have been waiting for, ART DEVO is a vital collection housing unheard and obscure mind blowers sourced directly from the vaults of The De-Evolution Band. This anthology takes you from the bands initial conception in Akron, Ohio to the moment before the world woke up, in a collection of sonic and visual art that captures Devo at the dawn of industrial death.

In honour of their 50th Anniversary, ART DEVO showcases the mesmerizing evolution of a band on the brink of discovery, mining irony, wit and dark humour from the madness of a distorted modern world still coming to terms with aftermath of a collapsed economy and the Vietnam war. From 1973-1977 Devo would transform from an art project, pop art in the literal sense, into the group David Bowie would declare “the band of the future”. Here you will find the audio mutations of a band at the edge of greatness, initial concepts that gave birth to a new aesthetic that continually challenged preconceptions about music, art, performance, culture, composition and was also the birth of Booji Boy. While the songs here may not be fully grown, raw even, these are the seeds of subversion that kickstarted Devo’s fifty year legacy.

Spanning 3xLP’s almost completely unheard and unreleased material, this collection draws purely from that integral early history, garnered from unearthed basement recordings, original demo tapes, unfinished montages and rare live audio, all taken from the bands personal archive. This collection showcases why Devo was, and is still is, one of the most important bands in American history. De-evolution is real. The art of DEVO is real. Here is the evidence.

This 3xLP version is housed in a gloss laminated wide spined sleeve, it comes in a choice of limited edition vinyl colours, it has a tracklist that has been curated by the band, and contains a fold-out poster containing rare imagery and liner notes by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V Casale.


Side 1
     1.    "Boojis Industrial Death" (Exhibit [A] 1973-1976) (1:26)
     2.    "Total Love" (5:19)
     3.    "Auto Modown" (Early version) (2:08)
     4.    "Space Girl Blues" (Early version) (3:49)
     5.    "Live Forever" (3:29)
     6.    "Androgyny" (live At Kent Kove 74) (1:20)
     7.    "Fraulein" (live At Kent Kove 74) (3:05)

Side 2
     1.    "Bicentennial Birthday" (Exhibit [B] 1973-1975) (2:19)
     2.    "Man From The Past" (3:32)
     3.    "Midget/My Lai Mama" (live At Kent Kove 74) (4:34)
     4.    "Shimmy Shake" (4:18)
     5.    "All Of Us" (2:53)
     6.    "Hubert House" (1:59)
     7.    "The Tinkle Tune" (2:20)

Side 3
     1.    "Private Secretary" (live At Kent Kove 74 - Exhibit [C] 1973-1975) (4:36)
     2.    "I Don't Know Why" (3:16)
     3.    "Dixie" (4:04)
     4.    "Pigs Waddle" (live At Kent Kove 74) (4:08)
     5.    "Death Of Lt Casanova" (live At Kent Kove 74) (7:42)

Side 4
     1.    "U Got Me Bugged" (instrumental version - Exhibit [D] 1975-1977) (3:40)
     2.    "I Don't Know What I Do Do" (2:00)
     3.    "Huboon Stomp" (2:04)
     4.    "Can U Take It" (Early version) (2:49)
     5.    "Uncontrollable Urge" (Early version) (3:58)
     6.    "Everything's Gonna Be Alright" (2:56)
     7.    "Falling In Love Again" (3:09)

Side 5
     1.    "Devo Corporate Anthem" (Early version - Exhibit [E] 1975-1977) (5:33)
     2.    "Shrivel Up" (Early version) (2:44)
     3.    "Smart Patrol" (Early version) (2:20)
     4.    "I'm Lost At Home" (2:59)
     5.    "Untitled" (2:57)
     6.    "Never Go Back" (2:44)
     7.    "Secret Agent Man" (Mark vocal) (3:31)

Side 6
     1.    "Social Fools" (Early version - Exhibit [F] 1975-1977) (2:54)
     2.    "A Plan For U" (Early version) (2:28)
     3.    "Nutty Buddy" (live At JB's 76) (4:50)
     4.    "Dogs Of Democracy" (3:19)
     5.    "Race Of Doom" (Early version) (2:03)
     6.    "Space Junk" (Early version) (2:37)
     7.    "Primal Satisfaction" (3:25)
     8.    "End Message" (0:39)

2024 Futurismo