Jefferson Airplane -Alive In America 1967-1969 [2LP] Limited 140gram Orange Marble vinyl

Hot Tracks

$ 49.98 


Limited Edition Orange Marble Colored Vinyl + 1 Sided Vinyl

Jefferson Airplane was an American rock band based in San Francisco, California, that became one of the pioneering bands of psychedelic rock. Formed in 1965, the group defined the San Francisco Sound and was the first from the Bay Area to achieve international commercial success. They were headliners at the Monterey Pop Festival (1967), Woodstock (1969), Altamont Free Concert (1969), and the first Isle of Wight Festival (1968) in England. Their 1967 break-out album Surrealistic Pillow was one of the most significant recordings of the Summer of Love. Two songs from that album, “Somebody to Love” and “White Rabbit”, are among Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Songs of All Time”.

Slick’s recruitment proved pivotal to the Airplane’s commercial breakthrough—she possessed a powerful and supple contralto voice that complemented Balin’s and was well-suited to the group’s amplified psychedelic music, and, a former model, her good looks and stage presence greatly enhanced the group’s live impact. “White Rabbit” was written by Grace Slick while she was still with The Great Society.
The first album Slick recorded with Jefferson Airplane was Surrealistic Pillow, its 1967 breakout album. Slick provided two songs from her previous group: her own “White Rabbit” and “Somebody to Love”, written by her brother-in-law Darby Slick. Both songs became breakout successes for Jefferson Airplane and have ever since been associated with that band.

The October 1966 to February 1970 lineup of Jefferson Airplane, consisting of Marty Balin (vocals), Paul Kantner (guitar, vocals), Grace Slick (vocals), Jorma Kaukonen (lead guitar, vocals), Jack Casady (bass), and Spencer Dryden (drums), was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1996.

Side 1
1. "Other Side Of This Life" (6:52)
2. "Somebody To Love" (3:57)
3. "Plastic Fantastic Lover" (3:44)
4. "White Rabbit" (2:33)

Side 2
1. "3/5 Of A Mile In 10 Seconds" (4:41)
2. "She Has Funny Cars" (3:21)
3. "High Flyin' Bird" (4:01)
4. "It's No Secret" (3:26)
5. "Today" (3:08)

Side 3
1. "My Best Friend" (3:06)
2. "Don't Slip Away" (2:33)
3. "This Is My Life & I Like It" (4:55)
4. "We Can Be Together" (5:38)
5. "Volunteers" (3:13)


2023 Renaissance