Thievery Corporation - Culture Of Fear [2LP]


$ 24.98 


LP reissue of Thievery Corporation's 6th studio album originally released in 2011

-Features Mr. Lif, Ras Puma, Shana Halligan, Lou Lou, Sleepy Wonder and more
-Black, standard weight double vinyl

Eric Hilton and Rob Garza craft a simmering and hazy collection of atmospheric gems that recalls their early production work but reflects a thoroughly
contemporary zeitgeist of socio-political angst and unease. Utilizing a team of skilled session players from their acclaimed live show and beyond, Culture
of Fear finds the duo easing into expansive multipart space-jams like ''Tower Seven'' and jazzy instrumental b-boy breaks like ''Light Flares.'' Not only are
usual suspects like multilingual chanteuse Lou Lou and dancehall toaster Sleepy Wonder back to lend their haunting vocals, but several new contributors
also join the Corporation. Renowned hip-hop MC Mr. Lif blazes the microphone on the title track ''Culture of Fear'' with a scathing flow that aims to uplift
and enlighten as it does burn down babylon! Rising star Ras Puma also drops mystic incantations on ''False Flag Dub'' and the slow burning roots reggae
throwback ''Overstand.'' It's not all fire and brimstone however, as Shana Halligan of Bitter:Sweet coos sultrily over booming tribal rhythms on ''Is it Over?'',
and newcomer Kota lends angelic and sprightly verses on album closer ''Free.''

1. Web of Deception
2. Culture of Fear
3. Take My Soul
4. Light Flares
5. Stargazer
6. Where It All Starts
7. Tower Seven
8. Is It Over?
9. False Flag Dub
10. Safar (The Journey)
11. Fragments
12. Overstand
13. Free


2014 ESL Music