The Who - My Generation [3LP] (Deluxe 50th Anniversary, Mono album, plus includes bonus tracks and demos, gatefold, limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 59.98 


50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Mono 3LP Set!

In the half century since its release The Who’s debut album MY GENERATION has lost none of it’s raw visceral power and still stands as the ultimate musical declaration of teenage rebellion. The title track alone has been covered innumerable times by the likes of Oasis, Green Day, Patti Smith, Billy Joel, Alice Cooper and Iron Maiden amongst many more.

Back in 1965 the band were considered to be so dangerous that the tailors tasked with turning a Union Jack into a pop art mod jacket for the cover feared that they would be jailed for desecration of the nation’s flag.

The Who’s surly demeanor that day in 1965 at London’s Surrey Docks and the brazen appropriation of the symbol of state is the best advert possible for MY GENERATION It’s an album that sounds like it looks: terse, confrontational and full of youthful angst and energy.

Brunswick Records first issued MY GENERATION in the UK in December 1965, and later in the US, under the title THE WHO SINGS MY GENERATION, in April 1966. It was produced by Shel Talmy who shot to fame with his work with The Kinks, a group that the teenage Pete Townshend admired greatly.

During a break in touring in 2015 Pete Townshend discovered tapes in his audio archive featuring previously unheard demos for the album which also included three totally unreleased songs that the other members of The Who hadn’t ever even heard, ‘The Girls I Could Have Had’, ‘As Children We Grew’and ‘My Own Love’.

• Deluxe Edition 3LP Set
• The Original Mono Album Remastered
• Selection of Rare Mono Bonus Tracks
• 11 Pete Townshend Demos made prior to the album's original release
• Stunning Gatefold Sleeve with period photos & memorabilia

Disc One: Original LP – Mono mixes
Side 1:

1. Out In The Street
2. I Don’t Mind
3. The Good’s Gone
4. La-La-La Lies
5. Much Too Much
6. My Generation
Side 2:
1. The Kids Are Alright
2. Please Please Please
3. It’s Not True
4. I’m A Man
5. A Legal Matter
6. The Ox

Disc Two: Mono Bonus Tracks
Side 1:

1. I Can’t Explain
2. Bald Headed Woman
3. Daddy Rolling Stone
4. Leaving Here
5. Lubie (Come Back Home)
6. Shout And Shimmy
Side 2:
1. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
2. Motoring
3. Anytime You Want Me
4. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
5. Instant Party Mixture
6. Circles

Disc Three: Primal Scoop – Pete Townshend's Demos
Side 1:

1. My Generation (V 3)
2. My Generation (V 2 – fragment)
3. The Girls I Could’ve Had
4. It’s Not True
5. As Children We Grew
6. Legal Matter
Side 2:
1. Sunrise (V 1)
2. Much Too Much
3. My Own Love
4. La-La-La- Lies
5. The Good’s Gone

2017 Geffen Records