Steve Miller Band - Born 2 B Blue [LP] (180 Gram Black Remastered Vinyl)

Hot Tracks

$ 26.98 


180g Black Vinyl LP

Released in 1988, Born 2 Be Blue was a solo album by Steve Miller. Miller performs modern reinterpretations of jazz standards including "God Bless The Child", and "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah".

The difference between jazz standards and pop music doesn't seem that great to me. Jazz musicians have always loved a great song and so have pop musicians. And both pop and jazz borrow heavily from the blues. My favorite musicians have always done this. Ella Fitzgerald made lots of pop records and Mel Torme was a swinging singer in the popular movies. Horace Silver plays the blues, Chet Baker sings cool, and you could say that The Four Freshman made the harmony that put the Beach Boys on the map. Milt Jackson and The Modern Jazz Quartet formalized the whole expression, and Ray Charles gave it soul. To me blending jazz and pop is a natural progression, and to be able to share it with such great musicians and with you is a real pleasure. - Steve Miller

• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered
• Made in Czech Republic

The Band:

Steve Miller, guitar, vocals
Ben Sidran, keyboards
Billy Peterson, bass
Gordy Knudtson, drums
Special Guests:
Milt Jackson, vibraphone ("Born To Be Blue")
Phil Woods, alto saxophone ("When Sunny Gets Blue" & "Red Top")
Bobby Malach, tenor saxophone ("Mary Ann", "God Bless The Child", "Filthy McNasty", "Just A Little Bit")
Ricky Peterson, all programming on "Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah", additional synthesizers on "Ya Ya" & "Just A Little Bit"

Side 1:

1. Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah
2. Ya Ya
3. God Bless The Child
4. Filthy McNasty
5. Born To Be Blue
Side 2:
1. Mary Ann
2. Just A Little Bit
3. When Sunny Gets Blue
4. Willow Weep For Me
5. Red Top

2019 Capitol Records