Steve Earle And The Dukes - GUY [2LP]

Hot Tracks

$ 23.98 


16 Songs Written by The Legendary Guy Clark On Double LP!
Featuring Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael & More!

Steve Earle was nineteen and had just hitchhiked from San Antonio to Nashville in 1974. Back then if you wanted to be where the best songwriters were, you had to be there. Guy Clark had moved to Nashville and if you were from Texas, Guy Clark was king. Flash forward more than forty years. In the fall of 2018, Steve and The Dukes went into House Of Blues studio in Nashville and recorded GUY in six days. "I wanted it to sound live...When you've got a catalog like Guy's and you're only doing sixteen tracks, you know each one is going to be strong." 

Earle and his current, perhaps best-ever, Dukes lineup including Kelley Looney on bass, Chris Masterson on guitar, Eleanor Whitmore on fiddle and mandolin, Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel and Brad Pemberton on drums and percussion, take on these songs with a spirit of reverent glee and invention. GUY also features guest appearances by fellow Guy Clark cohorts Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael, Shawn Camp, Verlon Thompson, Gary Nicholson, and the photographer Jim McGuire. But in the end GUY leads the listener back to its beginning, namely Guy Clark, which is what any good "tribute" should do. GUY is a saga of friendship, its ups and downs, what endures. We are lucky that Earle remembers and honors these things, because like old friends, GUY is a diamond.

• Double LP
• Gatefold jacket

Side A:

1. Dublin Blues
2. L.A. Freeway
3. Texas 1947
4. Desperados Waiting For A Train
Side B:
1. Rita Ballou
2. The Ballad Of Laverne And Captain Flint
3. The Randall Knife
4. Anyhow I Love You
Side C:
1. That Old Time Feeling
2. Heartbroke
3. The Last Gunfighter Ballad
4. Out In The Parking Lot
Side D:
1. She Ain't Going Nowhere
2. Sis Draper
3. New Cut Road
4. Old Friends

2019 New West Records