Sonic Youth - Dirty (Deluxe Edition) [4 LP Box Set] (remastered and includes many bonus tracks)


$ 49.98 


Sonic Youth's landmark 1992 album Dirty was re-released in a double-CD deluxe edition package by Universal Records in April, making it part of a series that includes classic albums by Marvin Gaye, Bob Marley, and The Who. The corresponding quadruple-LP box set on the band's own Goofin' Records imprint includes: the original 15 album tracks; nearly two dozen bonus tracks culled from B-sides ('Genetic,' 'Hendrix Necro,' 'The Destroyed Room,' 'Is It My Body,' 'Personality Crisis,' 'The End Of The End Of The Ugly' and the eight-minute epic 'Tamra'), outtakes ('Stalker,' 'Youth Against Fascism' and 'Wish Fulfillment'), and rehearsal tapes from the period (the previously released 'Little Jammy Thing' and previously unreleased songs 'Lite Damage,' 'Dreamfinger,' 'Barracuda,' 'New White Kross,' 'Guido,' 'Moonface,' 'Poet In The Pit' and 'Theoretical Chaos'); an eye-watering trove of full-color artwork; and essays from Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo and journalist/co-conspirator Byron Coley.

The band's eighth official album, Dirty reflects the influence of touring partners such as Mudhoney and Nirvana; indeed, the team behind Nevermind -- producer Butch Vig and mixer Andy Wallace-- helped to craft an explosive, intense yet melodic rock album which would become arguably the band's most commercially and critically successful work to date.

Rock has never seen a band quite like Sonic Youth. Dirty is a great Sonic Youth disc ... among the band's most unified and unforgettable recorded works.... The aura of insurgency provides a charged context for the disc's more personal songs, upping the intensity and the emotional stakes and fusing a collection of diverse tracks into a scorched and scorching whole. Dirty is a burner. --Robert Palmer, Rolling Stone
The ultimate Dirty set features more than 20 previously unreleased and hard-to-find B-Sides, outtakes and demos

Photos, artwork and liner notes from Thurston Moore, Lee Ranaldo, and Byron Coley
A classic from the year punk broke

A1 100%
A2 Swimsuit Issue
A3 Theresa's Sound-World
A4 Drunken Butterfly
A5 Genetic
B1 Shoot
B2 Wish Fulfillment
B3 Sugar Kane
B4 Orange Rolls, Angel's Spit
C1 Youth Against Fascism
C2 Nic Fit
C3 On The Strip
C4 Chapel Hill
C5 The Destroyed Room
D1 Stalker
D3 Hendrix Necro
D4 Purr
D5 Creme Brulee
E1 Is It My Body
E2 Personality Crisis (written-by - David Johansen)
E3 The End Of The End Of The Ugly
E4 Tamra
F1 Little Jammy Thing
F2 Lite Damage
F3 Dreamfinger
F4 Barracuda
G1 New White Cross
G2 Guido
G3 Stalker
G4 Moonface
H1 Poet In The Pit
H2 Theoretical Chaos
H3 Youth Against Fascism
H4 Wish Fulfillment

2003 Goofin Records