Sleater-Kinney - The Hot Rock [LP] (download)


$ 15.98 


Sleater-Kinney is an acclaimed, American rock band that formed in
Olympia, Washington in 1994. The band's core lineup consists of Corin
Tucker (vocals and guitar), Carrie Brownstein (guitar and vocals), and
Janet Weiss (drums). Sleater-Kinney were known for their feminist,
left-leaning politics, and were an integral part of the riot grrrl and indie
rock scenes in the Pacific Northwest.

The Hot Rock is the fourth studio album by Sleater-Kinney, originally
released on February 23, 1999 by Kill Rock Stars. It was produced by
Roger Moutenot and recorded at Avast studio in Seattle, Washington in
July 1998.

The Hot Rock reached number 181 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart
and number 12 on the Heatseekers Albums chart, becoming the first
Sleater-Kinney album to enter the charts. The Hot Rock appeared at
number 23 in The Village Voice's ''Pazz & Jop'' critics' poll for 1999.
Similarly, Spin placed The Hot Rock at number 18 in its list of ''The Top
20 Albums of 1999''. In 2002, Rolling Stone ranked the album at
number 17 on its list of ''Women in Rock: The 50 Essential Albums''.
''The expansive new sound gives Sleater-Kinney room to experiment
with their Husker Du-style storytelling... They've earned the right to keep
reinventing themselves''. - Rob Sheffield, Rolling Stone

''Tucker explores what her voice can do when it's not in overdrive,
stretching vowels like a religious supplicant or spewing prosody like Patti
Smith. At the same time, Brownstein blossoms as a singer herself [...]
braiding lines with Tucker so artfully the result sounds like the voicings
of a single restless mind''. [Grade: A] - Will Hermes, Entertainment

The album has been freshly remastered by Greg Calbi for this release.
This reissue coincides with Sub Pop's October 21st, 2014 release of
remastered versions of Sleater-Kinney's six other albums, as well as a
limited-edition, deluxe vinyl box set featuring all seven albums.

1. Start Together
2. Hot Rock
3. The End of You
4. Burn, Don't Freeze
5. God Is a Number
6. Banned from the End of the World
7. Don't Talk Like
8. Get Up
9. One Song for You
10. The Size of Our Love
11. Living in Exile
12. Memorize Your Lines
13. A Quarter to Three


2014 Sub Pop Records