Simple Minds - New Gold Dream (81/82/83/84) [LP] (180 Gram, download, import)

Hot Tracks

$ 30.98 


Simple Minds: Kerr (vocals); Burchill (guitar, saxophone); MacNeil (keyboards); Forbes (fretless bass); McGee (drums, percussion).Additional personnel: Herbie Hancock (keyboards).Simple Minds began their career indebted to Roxy Music, David Bowie and Magazine, but over successive releases emerged as a distinctive act. On New Gold Dream the group's ambitions came to full fruition, the awkward dissonance of early recordings replaced by a warm, textured sound. The content ranged from brash stadium rock to melodic ballad, but a singleness of purpose ensured such contrasts enhanced the set's overall cohesion. The quintet had never sounded so confident or assured and the resultant lush textures launched them into the international arena, fulfilling their undoubted promise. On "Promised You A Miracle," did Kerr really sing "guinea pigs are guinea pigs?"

2016 Universal Import