Rolling Stones, The - Hot Rocks 1964-1971 [2LP] (180 Gram Clear Vinyl, Remastered)

Hot Tracks

$ 32.98 


180g Virgin Heavyweight Clear Vinyl Double Gatefold LP! Remastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering! Pressed at RTI!

Originally released in 1972, Hot Rocks came out at the Rolling Stones' absolute creative peak and it's 21 tracks represent seven years worth of rock 'n' roll history. Features five #1 singles, including “(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction,” “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” and “Honky Tonk Women.”

"This two-LP... set is both a lot more and a bit less than what it seems. It is seven years' worth of mostly very high-charting -- and all influential and important -- songs, leaving out some singles in favor of well-known album tracks, and in the process, giving an overview not just of the Rolling Stones' hits but of their evolving image. One hears them change from loud R&B-inspired rockers covering others' songs ("Time Is on My Side") into originators in their own right ("Satisfaction"); then into tastemakers and style-setters with a particularly decadent air ("Get Off of My Cloud," "19th Nervous Breakdown"); and finally into self-actualized rebel-poets ("Jumpin' Jack Flash," "Midnight Rambler") and Shaman-like symbols of chaos. On its initial release, Hot Rocks sold well, not only as a unique compilation but also as a panorama of the 1960s... an exciting assembly of material." -

"This is pure British ‘60s music... Of course, the mega-hit 'Satisfaction' is included. The catchy electric guitar chords (Richards, who would become synonymous with rock grooves) and propulsive rhythm mesh perfectly, and The Rolling Stones celebrated their first No. 1 U.S. single. The sexual anti-establishment imagery lends an air of rebellion (they certainly 'freaked out' Ed Sulliivan). It stands the test of time... At the core of the music is Jagger’s go-for-broke singing. He can handle blues, pop r & b, even a country twang... [T]he acoustics shimmer on audiophile vinyl. Low-end mixing shines a light (no pun intended) on overlooked members Wyman and Watts. The guitars are crisp, but still maintain that trademark, relaxed band dynamic." - Robbie Gerson,, 4.5 Stars!
Click here to read the entire review!

• 180g Virgin Heavyweight Clear Vinyl
• Double Gatefold
• Re-mastered at Gateway Mastering
• Re-mastered by Bob Ludwig
• Cut at Trutone Mastering by Carl Rowatti
• Cut From High Resolution Digital Audio Files Sourced From Original Master Tapes
• Pressed at RTI
• Gatefold Jacket

LP 1
1. Time Is On My Side
2. Heart Of Stone
3. Play With Fire
4. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
5. As Tears Go By
6. Get Off Of My Cloud
7. Mother's Little Helper
8. 19th Nervous Breakdown
9. Paint It, Black
10. Under My Thumb
11. Ruby Tuesday
12. Let's Spend The Night Together
LP 2
1. Jumpin' Jack Flash
2. Street Fighting Man
3. Sympathy For The Devil
4. Honky Tonk Women
5. Gimme Shelter
6. Midnight Rambler (Live)
7. You Can't Always Get What You Want
8. Brown Sugar
9. Wild Horses

2013 ABKCO