Reigning Sound - Shattered [LP] (download)


$ 18.98 


The band's principal songwriter/member is Greg Cartwright, who's been
leading the shifting cast of characters since 2001. You may be familiar with
some of the band's work, as this album is preceded by five studio efforts as
well as numerous EPs and live records. Or perhaps some of Greg's other
projects have been on your musical radar: The Oblivians, Parting Gifts,
Compulsive Gamblers, 68 Comeback, Deadly Snakes, Detroit Cobras.
Regardless, as far as Reigning Sound is concerned, this is as good a place
to start as any because through many line-up changes and mood swings,
the central, constant feature is the way Greg writes songs. This particular
embodiment of the band includes longtime keyboardist Dave Amels, who
joined the band seven years ago when Reigning Sound recorded an album,
consisting mostly of Cartwright's songs, with former Shangri-Las lead singer
Mary Weiss.
Dave proved to be key in putting together the current line-up as well. About
three years ago, Greg was asked to make a promotional EP for Scion.
Recordings were set to take place in Nashville where he had lined up two
local friends to round out the band, but as fate would have it, both had to
bow out at the last minute. Luckily, Mike Catanese, Benny Trokan, and Mikey
Post - Dave Amels' bandmates in Brooklyn soul group The Jay Vons - were
up for the task. The four flew to Nashville, learned the songs, and recorded
them with Greg in a couple of days. Thus was born the group that you
hear on Shattered. They've been touring and playing together ever since, and
Shattered proves that the musical union is both exciting and consistent for fans
of Cartwright's songwriting.
The album was recorded at Daptone's Brooklyn studio (where drummer
Mikey works in the office) and masterfully engineered by Wayne Douglas.
The recordings are warm and punchy, a mixed bag of rockers, ballads, and
something in between. There are only 11 songs on the album, but the band
reckons it's just right.
track listing:
1. North Cackalacky Girl
2. Never Coming Home
3. Falling Rain
4. If You Gotta Leave
5. You Did Wrong
6. Once More
7. My My
8. Starting New
9. Baby, It's Too Late
10. In My Dreams
11. I'm Trying (to Be the Man You