Red House Painters - Red House Painters: Rollercoaster [2LP] (download)

Hot Tracks

$ 29.98 


Red House Painters Red House Painters (Rollercoaster) on 2LP

In 2015, each of Red House Painters' original studio albums released on 4AD will be reissued on individual vinyl after being out of print for years. Originally released between 1992 and 1995, titles include Down Colorful HillRed House Painters (Rollercoaster)Red House Painters (Bridge), and Ocean Beach (which has been reformatted as a double 12” LP to also include the Shock Me EP).
Singer Mark Kozelek wrote songs that defied conventional structure. His lyrics were poetic and plainspoken. He wrote about what he knew. The band played along. Drummer Anthony Koutsos ignored the standard time-keeper temptation to speed things up. He understood the value of playing against such instincts. Bassist Jerry Vessel locked into place, sustaining notes until the setting was nearly ambient. Guitarist Gorden Mack added subtle flourishes, tonal colorings that aided the songs‚ sombre hues. 
Just one year on from their brilliant 1992 debut, Red House Painters were back with not one, but two albums. Both eponymously titled and released just months apart in 1993, the first of which was this ambitious double album. With a rollercoaster on the cover to give it its unofficial title, it's now seen as one of Kozelek's most fully realized collections, containing such career highlights as "Grace Cathedral Park," "Katy Song" and "Mistress."
Red House Painters Red House Painters (Rollercoaster) Track Listing:
1. Grace Cathedral Park
2. Down Through
3. Katy Song
4. Mistress
5. Things Mean A Lot
6. Funhouse
7. Take Me Out
8. Rollercoaster
1. New Jersey
2. Dragonflies
3. Mistress (Piano Version)
4. Mother
5. Strawberry
6. Brown Eyes