Red House Painters - Red House Painters: Bridge [LP] (download)

Hot Tracks

$ 21.98 


Red House Painters Red House Painters (Bridge) on LP 

In 2015, each of Red House Painters' original studio albums released on 4AD will be reissued on individual vinyl after being out of print for years. Originally released between 1992 and 1995, titles include Down Colorful HillRed House Painters (Rollercoaster)Red House Painters (Bridge), and Ocean Beach (which has been reformatted as a double 12” LP to also include the Shock Me EP).
Singer Mark Kozelek wrote songs that defied conventional structure. His lyrics were poetic and plainspoken. He wrote about what he knew. The band played along. Drummer Anthony Koutsos ignored the standard time-keeper temptation to speed things up. He understood the value of playing against such instincts. Bassist Jerry Vessel locked into place, sustaining notes until the setting was nearly ambient. Guitarist Gorden Mack added subtle flourishes, tonal colorings that aided the songs‚ sombre hues. 
The second of the band’s eponymous albums of 1993 and with a bridge on the cover to give it its unofficial title, this set was shorter, collecting eight more tracks from the studio sessions the band embarked on upon signing to 4AD. Holding back signature classics like "Evil," "Uncle Joe" and "Blindfold" for this record, it’s arguably the most experimental and darkest of their 4AD releases, reflecting the winter month it was issued in. It’s also notable for containing the first “Kozeleked” cover versions, with "I Am A Rock" and the "Star Spangled Banner" both getting the Red House Painter treatment.
Red House Painters Red House Painters (Bridge) Track Listing:
1. Evil
2. Bubble
3. I Am A Rock
4. Helicopter
5. New Jersey
6. Uncle Joe
7. Blindfold
8. Star Spangled Banner