Ray Charles - The Best Of Ray Charles: The Atlantic Years [2LP] (White Vinyl, limited to 3000)

Hot Tracks

$ 32.98 


1st Time On Vinyl LP!
Pressed On White Color Vinyl!

A music legend beyond compare, who almost single-handedly laid the groundwork for soul music, American artist Ray Charles proved his mastery with countless jazz, country, R&B, and pop masterpieces during a career that spanned seven decades. In 2004, Rolling Stone ranked Ray number 10 on their list of "The 100 Greatest Artists of All Time" and was voted number 2 on their list of "The 100 Greatest Singers of All Time" in November 2008.

In 1952, Atlantic Records purchased Ray Charles's contract for $2,500 (only $24,550 today, adjusted for inflation). His first hit for Atlantic, "Mess Around," was released in 1953. Other hits included "This Little Girl Of Mine," "A Fool For You," and "What'd I Say."

Ray also recorded several phenomenal albums for Atlantic, including The Great Ray Charles (1957), Soul Brothers (with Milt Jackson) (1958), The Genius Of Ray Charles (1959). and The Genius Sings The Blues (1961). His work ran the gamut of soul, rhythm and blues, blues, and bebop.

[A]s an introduction to Charles's most crucial period of creative growth, The Best of Ray Charles: The Atlantic Years offers nearly all the hits, some choice lesser-known cuts, and an admirably accurate representation of his creative arc from this period, starting with rough-and-tumble jump blues such as 'It Should've Been Me' and 'Greenback' and growing into heartfelt but sophisticated proto-soul masterpieces like 'What'd I Say' and 'Drown in My Own Tears.'
-Mark Deming, Allmusic.com, 5/5 stars


  • 1st Time On Vinyl
  • Double Vinyl LP
  • White Color Vinyl



  1. It Should Have Been Me
  2. Don't You Know
  3. Blackjack
  4. I've Got a Woman
  5. What Would I Do Without You
  1. Greenbacks
  2. Come Back Baby
  3. A Fool for You
  4. This Little Girl of Mine
  5. Hallelujah, I Love Her So


  1. Lonely Avenue
  2. It's All Right
  3. Ain't That Love
  4. Swanee River Rock (Talkin' 'Bout That River)
  5. That's Enough
  1. What'd I Say, Pt. 1 & 2
  2. The Right Time
  3. Drown In My Own Tears
  4. Tell The Truth (with introduction) [Live at Alonzo Herndon Stadium, Atlanta, GA, 5/28/1959]
  5. Just For A Thrill

          2021 Atlantic