Prince - Emancipation [6LP Box Set] (Purple Colored Vinyl, first time on vinyl, limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 109.98 


Purple Vinyl 6LP Set!

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings continue their partnership this year with the reissue of this key album from 1996, the 6LP set Emancipation. The set is made available on vinyl for the first time in more than 20 years and is now pressed on Purple Vinyl.

A key thread through Prince's career was a lifelong quest for freedom. Personal, professional, creative, spiritual and sexual freedoms were key tenets of his mission as a producer, arranger, composer and performer. 1996 was a key year in that quest, which saw him release one of his loosest, shortest, most carefree albums as well as one of his most precise and expansive. These physical reissues offer another great opportunity to illuminate yet another crucial era in Prince's history.

Emancipation—Prince’s first release off Warner Bros. in a one-off agreement between NPG Records and EMI came in November of 1996 just 4 months after Chaos And Disorder—was as expansive an album as anything he’d ever release. A triple album constituting exactly three hours of music, Emancipation found Prince celebrating the release of music solely on his terms. "This is my most important record," he proclaimed to the Minneapolis Star Tribune upon its release. "I’m free, and my music is free." Much like Paisley Park, the recording complex in which Prince created Emancipation, the album represents the incredible variety of his influences and moods. Romance and family are key themes ("Somebody’s Somebody," "The Holy River," "The Love We Make"), reflecting his recent marriage to back-up dancer and muse Mayte Garcia that year as well as the impending arrival of their child. (Tragically, their son suffered from a rare disease at birth and passed away weeks before the album’s release.) Elsewhere, Prince reflects on technology (“My Computer”) and sex (“In This Bed <0> Scream”), and offers new, upbeat grooves (“Face Down,” “Jam Of The Year”) as well as four unique covers (Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me,” the Philly soul classics “Betcha By Golly Wow” and “La, La, La Means I Love U,” Joan Osborne’s then-recent rock hit “One Of Us”).

First time on vinyl! 6 purple LPs in slipcase. Each LP has printed jacket and printed interior sleeve.

• 6LP Set
• Purple Vinyl
• Housed in slip-case box

LP 1:
Side A:

1. Jam of The Year
2. Right Back Here In My Arms
3. Somebody's Somebody
Side B:
4. Get Yo Groove On
5. Courtin' Time
6. Betcha By Golly Wow!

LP 2:
Side A:

1. We Gets Up
2. White Mansion
3. Damned If Eye Do
Side B:
4. I Can't Make U Love Me
5. Mr. Happy
6. In This Bed Eye Scream

LP 3:
Side A:

1. Sex In the Summer
2. One Kiss At A Time
3. Soul Sanctuary
Side B:
4. Emale
5. Curious Child
6. Dreamin' About U

LP 4:
Side A:

1. Joint 2 Joint
2. The Holy River
3. Let's Have A Baby
Side B:
4. Saviour
5. The Plan
6. Friend, Lover, Sister, Mother/Wife

LP 5:
Side A:

1. Slave
2. New World
3. The Human Body
Side B:
4. Face Down
5. La, La, La Means I Love You
6. Style

LP 6:
Side A:

1. Sleep Around
2. Da, Da, Da
3. My Computer
Side B:
4. One of Us
5. The Love We Make
6. Emancipation

2019 Legacy