Prince - Chaos And Disorder [LP] (Purple Colored Vinyl, first time on vinyl, limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 28.98 


Purple Vinyl LP!

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings continue their partnership this year with the reissue of two key albums from 1996: Chaos and Disorder and Emancipation. Both will be made available on disc for the first time in more than 20 years, and new purple vinyl pressings (1LP and 6LP) mark their premiere on the format. 

A key thread through Prince's career was a lifelong quest for freedom. Personal, professional, creative, spiritual and sexual freedoms were key tenets of his mission as a producer, arranger, composer and performer. 1996 was a key year in that quest, which saw him release one of his loosest, shortest, most carefree albums as well as one of his most precise and expansive. These physical reissues will offer another great opportunity for streaming initiatives to illuminate yet another crucial era in Prince's history.

Released in July 1996, Chaos and Disorder came with a rare disclaimer penned by Prince (then known as the unpronounceable “love symbol”): "Originally intended 4 private use only, this compilation serves as the last original material recorded by [The Artist] 4 Warner Bros. Records." 

Prince’s contentious relationship with the label was at its lowest point, and this record—a taut 39 minutes of dexterous guitar and simple but addictive pop melodies—was a crucial final link in the chains that kept him from releasing the music the way he wanted. Any internal turmoil was not represented in tracks like “Dinner With Delores” (a minor U.K. hit) and the rollicking title track, a staple of his live shows. "Someone told me that Van Halen did their first record in a week," Prince told the Los Angeles Times of the album’s quick creation. "That’s what we were going for—spontaneity, seeing how fast and hard we could thrash it out."

• Purple Vinyl

Side A:

1. Chaos and Disorder
2. I Like It There
3. Dinner With Delores
4. The Same December
5. Right the Wrong
6. Zannalee
Side B:
7. I Rock, Therefore I Am
8. Into the Light
9. I Will
10. Dig U Better Dead
11. Had U

2019 Legacy