Pixies - Trompe le Monde [LP] (Marbled Green vinyl, printed inner-sleeve, limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 29.98 


30th Anniversary Limited Edition Marbled Green Vinyl LP!

Trompe Le Monde bookended a golden run of landmark records - a mini-album followed by four albums, released in quick succession - that cemented Pixies as one of the best for a generation.

Translated from French to mean "fool the world", Trompe Le Monde showed the band still restless to push their sound forward. Recorded between Burbank, Paris, and London, with producer Gil Norton again at the controls, their fourth album is arguably their most playful, with Black Francis's lyrics on UFOs and conspiracy theories keeping things weird while power pop creeps in to amplify the space rock established on predecessor Bossanova.

Featuring singles "Planet Of Sound", "Alec Eiffel", "Letter To Memphis", and a flawless cover of The Jesus and Mary Chain's "Head On", Trompe Le Monde goes full throttle with 15 tracks coming in a quickfire 40-minute salvo. Receiving critical praise at the time and being supported by a huge tour that included playing stadiums with U2, it also proved to be the end of act one for the band, with them taking over a decade before returning to the stage together.

A brilliant record, Trompe Le Monde sounds just as fresh 30 years on with outlets such as Pitchfork concurring, retrospectively scoring it 9.3, they called it "more aggressive than anything in their catalog but also more confident. They can handle this now, and they do."


  • 30th Anniversary
  • Limited Edition
  • Marbled Green Vinyl


Side One:

  1. Trompe Le Monde
  2. Planet Of Sound
  3. Alec Eiffel
  4. The Sad Punk
  5. Head On
  6. U-Mass
  7. Palace Of The Brine
  8. Letter To Memphis

Side Two:

  1. Bird Dream Of the Olympus Mons
  2. Space (I Believe In)
  3. Subbacultcha
  4. Distance Equals Rate Times Time
  5. Lovely Day
  6. Motorway To Roswell
  7. The Navajo Know

2021 4AD