Peter Gabriel - Birdy (Soundtrack) [2LP] (Heavyweight Vinyl, 45 RPM, gatefold, download, remastered, numbered, limited to 1500)

Hot Tracks

$ 37.98 


Numbered, Limited Edition Half-Speed Remastered 180g 45rpm 2LP

Birdy is the music, composed by Peter, for the Alan Parker film of the same name. 

The vinyl was cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering, mastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis and overseen by Peter’s main sound engineer Richard Chappell.

The LP looks amazing with a gatefold sleeve utilizing imagery from the original LP + additional images from the film. Plain white inner bags. All images are newly re-scanned.

Birdy marks the first occasion that Peter worked with producer Daniel Lanois who went onto co-produce both Peter’s So and US albums. The soundtrack to the Alan Parker movie of the same name it finds Peter flexing his creative muscles free of any commercial pressures and has a number of tracks built out of elements of existing tracks from Peter’s third and fourth solo albums.

Recorded between October and December 1984 and originally released in 1985, Birdy marks the first occasion that Peter worked with French-Canadian producer and multi-instrumentalist Daniel Lanois who was fresh from working on The Unforgettable Fire with U2. The Alan Parker movie is the tale of a Vietnam vet who harbors Icarus-like ambitions to fly. The soundtrack finds Peter flexing his creative muscles free of any commercial pressures.

"It has been heart warming to see the return of vinyl. Even though I loved being free of its limitations in the digital world, there is still a warmth and presence to vinyl that somehow makes it a more natural human companion. It is great to see a new generation learning the secrets of the grooves" – Peter Gabriel

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• 180g 45rpm
• Double LP
• Half-speed remastered
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download card (Hi-res 24bit/96k or 16bit/44.1k)

Side One:

1. At Night
2. Floating Dogs
3. Quiet And Alone
Side Two:
1. Close Up (from Family Snapshot)
2. Slow Water
3. Dressing The Wound
Side Three:
1. Birdy's Flight (from Not One Of Us)
2. Slow Marimbas
3. The Heat (from The Rhythm Of The Heat)
Side Four:
1. Sketchpad With Trumpet And Voice
2. Under Lock And Key (from Wallflower)
3. Powerhouse At The Foot Of The Mountain (from San Jacinto)

2017 Real World Records