Nirvana - From The Muddy Banks Of The Wishkah [2LP]

Hot Tracks

$ 34.98 

Compilation Album On Double LP!

This compilation album contains raw live music recorded between 1989 and 1994.

"Kurt Cobain's former bandmates Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl clearly had an agenda in compiling From the Muddy Banks of the Wishkah, the second of what will no doubt be a long line of posthumous Nirvana albums. Because of its somber, intense nature, the first post-Cobain release, MTV Unplugged in New York, was largely perceived as music for a wake--an impression reinforced by MTV's constant airings of the special in the days following Cobain's suicide. But that acoustic detour aside, the Nirvana live experience was always about displaying a lust for life--not a death wish--with all the energy the musicians could muster. Wishkah offers 16 songs spanning the band's career, all delivered in the loudest, most frenzied, and sometimes the sloppiest versions imaginable. In the opening "Intro," a snippet of pre-show noise, Cobain screams his heart out in joyful contrast to the haunted screams on "Where Did You Sleep Last Night." Then the group launches into "School," which ends with the spirited chorus "Don't be sad." Indeed, it's impossible to dwell on the maudlin when listening to these renditions of "Smells Like Teen Spirit," "Sliver," "Heart-Shaped Box," and "Negative Creep"--they're too loud and too full of life..." - Jim Derogatis

• Double LP

Kurt Cobain, vocals, guitar
Krist Novoselic, bass
Dave Grohl, drums
Featured Artists:
Pat Smear, guitar (8,10,11,12)
Chad Channing, drums (14, 15)

Side A:

1. Intro
2. School
3. Drain You
4. Aneurysm
Side B:
5. Smells Like Teen Spirit
6. Been A Son
7. Lithium
8. Sliver
9. Spank Thru
10. Scentless Apprentice
11. Heart-Shaped Box
Side C:
12. Milk it
13. Negative Creep
14. Polly
15. Breed
16. Tourette's
17. Blew
Side D:
Excerpts of Band / Audience Bulls*!##ig & Rantings