Music Blues - Things Haven’t Gone Well [2LP] (Brown Vinyl for first 500, gatefold, download)


$ 20.98 


Music Blues is Stephen Tanner of Harvey Milk.
Things Haven't Gone Well is Tanner's debut as a solo artist and the first album under the name Music Blues. The album was completely written and recorded by Tanner in both Georgia at Harvey Milk's vocalist and guitarist Creston Spiers' house and in his Brooklyn apartment. Tanner continues on with the musical touchstones of Harvey Milk (Melvins, Gore, Earth, ZZ Top, Kiss and Judas Priest) while forging ahead into a strange, and at times harrowing, unknown.
Tanner's life, from birth until now, is the theme of the album. The first song, ''9/17/71'' is his birthdate, and the second one ''Premature Caesarean Removal Delivery'' about being cut out of his mother three weeks prematurely, an act he attributes to most of his problems. He takes to heart the words his father told him at a young age: ''You think life sucks now, just wait.'' It's a dirgey sludge with solid boogie moments and Fade to Black melancholy. Tanner calls it depressing, but the album hits far more notes than that. It's slow and heavy, but it moves, and there's an expansiveness that picks up steam, a vastness akin to soundtracks. It has a cinematic quality that reveals the influences of John Carpenter and Ennio Morricone, albeit different in musicality.
Stephen Tanner was probably born on a dirt road somewhere in Georgia. He claims he was good at baseball as a kid until he discovered Kiss, and that shit ruined him. It made him the tequila-filled beast he is today. Instead of leading a third-tiered Kenny Powers-esque life in baseball, he went on to play bass in the mighty Harvey Milk, who formed in 1992, disbanded in 1998 and rose from the irrelevance ashes, thankfully to much acclaim and avail, in 2008.
Brooklyn, New York is home, where he is highly regarded in the food world and has been lovingly reviewed in the New York Times, both for his cooking and Harvey Milk. Tanner plans to tour on the back of this behemoth, but watch out fellas! He doesn't have a driver's license.
01. 91771
02. Premature Caesarean Removal Delivery
03. Teach The Children
04. Hopelessness and Worthlessness
05. Trying and Giving Up
06. Great Depression
07. Failure
08. Death March
09. It's Not Going to Get Better
10. Tremendous Misery Sets In
11. The Price is Wrong
12. Bonus Track