Miles Davis Quintet With Gil Evans Orchestra - At Carnegie Hall (Reissue) [2LP] (Audiophile Clear Vinyl, numbered, limited to 500)


$ 31.98 


Despite a performing career that stretched from the 1940s through the early
1990s, trumpet legend Miles Davis appeared at Carnegie Hall fewer than 10
times. The concert on May 19, 1961 -- a benefit for the African Research
Foundation -- came in the middle of that run and saw Davis performing with a
small combo that featured Hank Mobley, Wynton Kelly, Paul Chambers,
and Jimmy Cobb along with the Gil Evans Orchestra -- one of only two times
they performed together. Aside from the fact that Davis withdrew his permission to
record the event at the last minute (which led to the concert being surreptitiously
captured by producer Teo Macero), there was further incident on stage. As
reported on, ''[Drummer] Max Roach [who was not performing
that night] displayed placards on stage denouncing the colonial character of the
African Research Foundation. Miles left the stage. Persuaded to return, he showed
his anger in the fire and blood he brought to 'Oleo' before gradually calming
down for the grand finale of 'Concierto de Aranjuez.''' --from the Carnegie Hall
Official Website; A numbered limited edition of 500 copies pressed on Audiophile
Clear Vinyl (ACV).
A1. So What (12:01)
A2. Spring Is Here (4:02)
A3. The Meaning of the Blues/Lament/New Rhumba (8:18)
B1. Teo/Walkin (18:29)
C1. Someday My Prince Will Come (2:45)
C2. Oleo/No Blues (17:57)
D1. I Thought About You (4:44)
D2. En Aranjuez Con Tu Amor (17:04)