Mark Lanegan - Houston Publishing Demos 2002 [LP]


$ 18.98 


180 Gram Vinyl
12-song collection previously unreleased demos via Ipecac Recordings.

Ipecac Recordings has announced that Mark Lanegan will release Houston (Publishing Demos 2002) on August 21st. At the time, The Screaming Trees had recently disbanded and Lanegan was in the early years of his solo offerings (at this point he had released a mere five solo albums). The songs on Houston (Publishing Demos 2002) were written, recorded, then shelved. Until now, with the release of this 12-song collection of previously unreleased demos via Ipecac Recordings.

“When I first started, I wrote The Winding Sheet, and I didn’t know how to play guitar, but I had an offer to make a record, so I made up singing parts. I was working in a warehouse, and at the end of the day I would come up with a vocal melody, and I would go home. I had a guitar chord book, and I would find the chords that went underneath the vocal melody, so I was really doing it backwards. Then when I had those songs, Mike [Johnson, collaborator] came in, and wrote intros, and middle sections, and outros, and all of the other stuff that you need in a song (laughs) besides the singing part. Then of course later, Mike would often right entire songs musically, and I would write the words and singing, that happened a lot also. He’s one of my all time favorite musicians. I made a covers record a couple years ago, and he came over from France where he lives now, and played on it with me, and it was a great time.”

1 No Cross To Carry 00:02:09
2 Two Horses 00:04:15
3 When It's In You (Methamphetamine Blues) 00:03:51
4 High Life 00:02:18
5 I'll Go Where You Send Me 00:03:11
6 Grey Goes Black 00:01:50
7 The Primitives 00:02:03
8 Blind 00:03:49
9 Halcyon Daze 00:02:49
10 Nothing Much to Mention 00:02:25
11 A Suite for Dying Love 00:04:14
12 Way to Tomorrow 00:05:41