Marianne Faithfull - Come and Stay With Me:The UK 45s 1964-1969 [2LP] (180 Gram)

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 


Best Of Compilation On Mono Double LP!

Features Marianne Faithfull's top 20 hits, A & B-sides of the UK Decca singles recorded from 1964 - 1969, plus her Go Away From My World EP. Producers include Andrew Loog Oldham, Mike Leander, Tony Calder and Mick Jagger.

Marianne Faithfull's Decca singles are exemplary string-laden UK '60s pop and offer insight into both her roots and artistic development. Come And Stay With Me opens with Faithfull's first hit, her bittersweet 1964 version of the Mick Jagger/Keith Richards composition "As Tears Go By" (co-written with their manager Andrew Loog Oldham who changed the title from "As Time Goes By"), and closes with her original chilling 1969 rendition of the dark song, co-written with Jagger and Richards, "Sister Morphine". It was later remodeled by The Rolling Stones on their classic 1971 album Sticky Fingers.

Born in Hampstead, UK in 1946 to a former British Army spy and a ballerina, Faithfull moved to Reading where, by her early teens, she could be found in coffee bars singing folk songs. Her repertoire included "House of the Rising Sun" and Bob Dylan's "Blowin' In The Wind", both of which she would eventually record for Decca and are part of the new collection. After immersing herself in London's party scene, she befriended Andrew Loog Oldham, who upon realizing that she could sing, quickly signed her. Her subsequent romance with Mick Jagger from the mid-1960s until the end of the decade would become a national obsession. The couple was viewed as emblematic figures of the era, the media fixation obscuring and ultimately hurting her own career.

Come And Stay With Me restores the focus upon the magnificent folk (a remarkable rendition of the traditional "Greensleeves", produced by Oldham) and popular music (including versions of Jackie DeShannon's "Come And Stay With Me", Donovan's "The Most Of What Is Least" and John D. Loudermilk's "This Little Bird") that Marianne Faithfull created at Decca as she stumbled towards writing her own material and moving towards a redemptive career path.


  • Double LP
  • Mono
  • The A and B sides of UK Decca singles plus Go Away From My World EP


LP One

  1. As Tears Go By
  2. Greensleeves
  3. Blowin' In The Wind
  4. House Of The Rising Sun
  5. Come And Stay With Me
  6. What Have I Done Wrong
  1. This Little Bird
  2. Morning Sun
  3. Go Away From My World
  4. The Most Of What Is Least
  5. Et Maintenant [What Now My Love?]
  6. The Sha La La Song

LP Two

  1. Summer Nights
  2. Yesterday
  3. Oh Look Around You
  4. Tomorrow's Calling
  5. That's Right Baby
  6. Counting
  1. I'd Like To Dial Your Number
  2. Is This What I Get For Loving You?
  3. Something Better
  4. Sister Morphine


2020 Abkco