Luluc - Passerby [LP] (download)


$ 15.98 


In a world where instant gratification is the norm, patience has become
a rare commodity. But for Zo? Randell and Steve Hassett, who make up
indie-folk duo Luluc (pronounced Loo-LUKE), letting things unfold in
due time not only defines their career trajectory, it also works as a pretty
good description of their approach to making music. Music that Sub
Pop co-founder Jonathan Poneman describes as ''bracing, subtle, tender
and magnificent.''
So while it may seem like Randell and Hassett's history is littered with
all kinds of good luck - from their initial meeting to their relationship
with The National's Aaron Dessner to opening slots with artists like
Lucinda Williams, Fleet Foxes, and Jos? Gonz?lez; to their deal with Sub
Pop; to grabbing the attention of Nick Drake's producer - being in the
right place at the right time isn't just about fate. It's about knowing when
something feels right and having the confidence that people will respond
when they're ready.
There's no question that everything these Australians (who split their
time between Melbourne and their adopted hometown of Brooklyn) have
done in their lives has been leading up to this summer's Passerby, their
second album overall and first available worldwide. Passerby is a gorgeously
crafted 10-track album full of beautiful, slow-burning melodies and
delicate harmonies, which drip out of their mouths like honey. The
attention to detail is unmistakable, and highlights like ''Reverie On
Norfolk Street'' and ''Early Night'' are as haunting as they are hummable.
Unadorned guitars and voices make up the bulk of the dreamy sound,
though the power of the added instrumentation can't be overstated, with
well-placed piano, percussion, double bass, sax, trumpet, trombone,
and more adding color to the cosmopolitan atmosphere. Band favorites
like Simon and Garfunkel and Gillian Welch (and, of course, Nick Drake)
can be felt throughout Passerby, while the poignant restraint aligns them
well with labelmates Low.
Co-produced by the band and Dessner, Passerby shows off all of Luluc's
best qualities, retaining the gentle beauty of the duo's debut while adding
textures built with a cadre of impressive players. It's the trophy celebrating
Luluc's airtight case that good things - no, make that great things - really
do come to those who wait. The wait is over. The world is ready to hear
Luluc quiet and clear.
1. Small Window
2. Without a Face
3. Passerby
4. Winter is Passing
5. Tangled Heart
6. Senja
7. Reverie on Norfolk Street
8. Early Night
9. Gold on the Leaves
10. Star