Lou Reed - Words & Music, May 1965 [2LP+7''] (180 Gram, Deluxe Edition, first-ever vinyl release of six unheard tracks, Saddle-stitched, die-cut 28-page book feat. lyrics, photos, limited to 7500)

Hot Tracks

$ 95.98 


Numbered, Limited Edition of 7,500 Copies!

Inaugural Release in Light in the Attic's Lou Reed Archive Series!

Early Lou Reed Demos! All Tracks Previously Unreleased!

Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by John Baldwin!

Pressed on 45rpm 180g Audiophile-Quality Double Vinyl at RTI!
Includes Bonus 7" & CD!

"To hear a tape containing their earliest demos, recorded on May 11, 1965, and locked away until now, is to hear traces of things rarely associated with The Velvet Underground: blues and folk, earthy and traditional, uncertain and hesitant...yet bristling with that rusty, caustic, Lou Reed spirit. It is a revelation." - Will Hodgkinson, MOJO

Light in the Attic Records, in cooperation with Laurie Anderson, proudly announces the inaugural title in their ongoing Lou Reed Archive Series: Words & Music, May 1965. Released in tandem with the late artist's 80th birthday celebrations, the album offers an extraordinary, unvarnished, and plainly poignant insight into one of America's true poet-songwriters. Capturing Reed in his formative years, this previously unreleased collection of songs - penned by a young Lou Reed, recorded to tape with the help of future bandmate John Cale, and mailed to himself as a "poor man's copyright" - remained sealed in its original envelope and unopened for nearly 50 years. Its contents embody some of the most vital, groundbreaking contributions to American popular music committed to tape in the 20th century. Through examination of these songs rooted firmly in the folk tradition, we see clearly Lou's lasting influence on the development of modern American music - from punk to art-rock and everything in between. A true time capsule, these recordings not only memorialize the nascent sparks of what would become the seeds of the incredibly influential Velvet Underground; they also cement Reed as a true observer with an innate talent for synthesizing and distilling the world around him into pure sonic poetry.

Featuring contributions from Reed's future bandmate John Cale, Words & Music, May 1965 presents the earliest-known recordings of such historic songs as "Heroin," "I'm Waiting for the Man," and "Pale Blue Eyes" in their entirety - all of which Reed would eventually record and make indelibly influential with the Velvet Underground. Also included are several more previously unreleased compositions that offer additional insight into Reed's creative process and early influences. Produced by Laurie Anderson, Don Fleming, Jason Stern, Hal Willner, and Matt Sullivan, the album features newly remastered audio from the original tapes by GRAMMY®-nominated engineer John Baldwin. Rounding out the package are new liner notes from acclaimed journalist and author Greil Marcus, plus in-depth archival notes from Don Fleming and Jason Stern, who oversee the Lou Reed Archive.

The centerpiece of the inaugural Lou Reed Archive Series release is the Deluxe 45rpm Double LP Edition of Words & Music, May 1965. Limited to 7,500 copies worldwide, this stunning collection was designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike and features a stylized, die-cut gatefold jacket manufactured by Stoughton Printing Co., with sequential foil numbering. Housed inside are two 45rpm 12-inch LPs, pressed on HQ-audiophile-quality 180-gram vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI) featuring the only vinyl release of "I'm Waiting for the Man" (May 1965 Alternate Version). A bonus 7-inch, housed in its own unique die-cut picture sleeve and manufactured at Third Man Record Pressing includes the only vinyl release of six previously unreleased bonus tracks providing a never-before-seen glimpse into Reed's formative years, including early demos, a cover of Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right," and a doo-wop serenade recorded in 1958 when the legendary singer-songwriter was just sixteen years old. An accompanying saddle-stitched, die-cut 28-page book features lyrics, archival photos, and liner notes. Also included is an archival reproduction of a rarely seen letter, written by Reed to his college professor and poet Delmore Schwartz, circa 1964. The set includes a CD containing the complete audio from the package, housed in a die-cut jacket.


  • Deluxe Edition
  • Foil-Numbered, Limited Edition of 7,500 Copies Worldwide
  • Light in the Attic Lou Reed Archive Series
  • Early Lou Reed Demos
  • 45rpm
  • 180g HQ Audiophile Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Seven Unheard Lou Reed Compositions
  • All Tracks Previously Unreleased
  • Produced in Partnership with Laurie Anderson & the Lou Reed Archive
  • Earliest-Known Recordings of "I'm Waiting for the Man," "Pale Blue Eyes," & "Heroin"
  • Only Vinyl Release of "I'm Waiting for the Man" (May 1965 Alternate Version)
  • Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by John Baldwin
  • Package Designed by Masaki Koike
  • Pressed at RTI
  • Entire Package Housed in a Stylized, Die-Cut Gatefold Jacket Manufactured at Stoughton Printing Co.
  • Saddle-Stitched, Die-Cut 28-Page Booklet with Lyrics, Archival Photos & Liner Notes by Greil Marcus, Don Fleming & Jason Stern
  • Produced by Laurie Anderson, Don Fleming, Jason Stern, Hal Willner & Matt Sullivan
  • Bonus 45rpm 7" Vinyl - First-Ever Vinyl Release of Six Unheard Tracks
  • 7" Vinyl Housed in a Die-Cut Picture Sleeve
  • 7" Vinyl Manufactured at Third Man Record Pressing
  • Archival Reproduction of Letter Written by Reed to Delmore Schwartz, circa 1964
  • CD - Complete Audio from the Package
  • CD Housed in a Die-Cut Jacket


LP 1 & 2 (May 1965 Demos, except as noted)

  1. I'm Waiting for the Man
  2. Men of Good Fortune
  1. Heroin
  2. Too Late
  3. Buttercup Song
  1. Walk Alone
  2. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  3. Pale Blue Eyes
  1. Stockpile
  2. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
  3. I'm Waiting for the Man (May 1965 Alternate Version)

7" Vinyl (1963/64 Home Recordings, except as noted)

  1. Gee Whiz - 1958 Rehearsal
  2. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down
  1. Michael, Row the Boat Ashore
  2. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Partial)
  3. W & X, Y, Z Blues
  4. Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental


  1. I'm Waiting for the Man
  2. Men of Good Fortune
  3. Heroin
  4. Too Late
  5. Buttercup Song
  6. Walk Alone
  7. Buzz Buzz Buzz
  8. Pale Blue Eyes
  9. Stockpile
  10. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
  11. I'm Waiting for the Man (May 1965 Alternate Version)
  12. Gee Whiz - 1958 Rehearsal
  13. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down
  14. Michael, Row the Boat Ashore
  15. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Partial)
  16. W & X, Y, Z Blues
  17. Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental

2022 Light In The Attic