Lenny Kravitz - Mama Said [2LP] (180 Gram, White/Grey Marble Colored Vinyl)

Hot Tracks

$ 40.98 


Scheduled For Release end of May/ early June* RESERVE YOUR COPY TODAY!

Marbled White & Grey 180g Vinyl Double LP!

Though the original vinyl was released on a single LP and the sound quality suffered as a result, Mama Said is now for the first time being released with better fidelity as a 2LP on marbled white and grey 180g vinyl! Featuring the singles "It Ain't Over 'Til It's Over" and "Always On the Run", this record was a top 40 U.S. album, top 10 worldwide, and went 2x Platinum in the U.S.

"Considering Lenny Kravitz's retro leanings, it's a surprise that only one of his '90s-era albums was released on vinyl in the U.S., and that one of them wasn't put out on wax until just now. The format is befitting his tendency at the time for throwback sounds that evoked the psychedelic pop of the '60s and the funk-rock of the '70s. And hearing them today on LP, they sound perfect for the medium, marked by full, round bass tones and putting his playful mixing ideas into bold relief (the album version of Are You Gonna Go My Way's title track is filled with fun details that got washed out in the single release). There's also the added incentive of bonus tracks tacked on to the end of all the records save Mama Said, fleshing out the story of each point in Kravitz's early career nicely. The quality of each LP varies a bit. There's some noticeable clipping that happens during some of the more aggressive moments on Are You Gonna Go My Way, and the pressing of 5 is noticeably quieter than the rest. At the same time, Kravitz's love of analog recording techniques and vintage instruments have proven to be beneficial when transferring these 20+ year old tunes to wax. The effects of the transfer to a digital medium—a flattening and separating of the sonic elements—have been removed, making for material that sounds so much more alive and electrifying." - Paste Magazine

• 180g Vinyl
• Marbled White & Grey Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold jacket
• Made in Czech Republic

Side A:

1. Fields Of Joy
2. Always On The Run
3. Stand By My Woman
Side B:
1. It Ain't Over 'Til It's Over
2. More Than Anything In This World
3. What Goes Around Comes Around
Side C:
1. The Difference Is Why
2. Stop Draggin' Around
3. Flowers For Zoe
4. Fields Of Joy (Reprise)
Side D:
1. All I Ever Wanted
2. When The Morning Turns To Night
3. What The ... Are We Saying?
4. Butterfly

2019 Virgin


* Release dates are scheduled by the Record labels and the dates are subject to change. Item will ship when released from the manufacturer.