k.d. lang - Ingenue [2LP] (25th Anniversary)

Hot Tracks

$ 26.98 


25th Anniversary Edition Double LP!
Remastered With 8 Live Songs From MTV Unplugged!

Nonesuch releases k.d. lang's Ingénue: 25th Anniversary Edition to celebrate the double platinum-selling, Grammy Award-winning album's silver anniversary. This 2LP set includes remastered versions of the album's original ten tracks, including its huge hit "Constant Craving," along with eight previously unreleased performances from lang's 1993 MTV Unplugged episode, recorded in New York City's famed Ed Sullivan Theater.

Ingénue was k.d. lang's fifth album, following a quartet of records that pushed the boundaries of country music. Released in 1992, the album was the first of entirely new material. lang wrote most of the songs with her longtime collaborator Ben Mink; Greg Penny co-wrote "So It Shall Be," and all three produced the album. The UK's NME named it one of the year's best albums and said, "You will fall in love with Ingénue. In fact, you will want to have its children."

As James Reed writes in the 25th Anniversary Edition liner note, "Ingénue is still such a mysterious body of work … You'd be hard-pressed to pinpoint when the album was released or even made and where. It slinks out of the speakers with luminous melodies in search of a soundtrack, its choruses as vast and sweeping as the Canadian prairies where lang grew up in Consort, Alberta. A strange brew of torch and twang, of pop gloss and jazz sophistication—and shot through with Eastern European flourishes … lang was fond of calling it 'post-nuclear cabaret' back then.

"Throughout Ingénue, a succinct song cycle and ode to an unrequited relationship, we witness an artist navigating love in its many splendors. It should have come with a warning sticker on its cover: 'Love is not always pretty. Proceed with caution—and a Kleenex.' lang was unflinching in presenting desire as both toxic and intoxicating, a human condition that subsumes all of us at some point."

• 25th Anniversary Edition
• Double LP
• Original album remastered
• 8 previously unreleased MTV Unplugged performances
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time MP3 download

Ingénue - Remastered
Side A:

1. Save Me
2. The Mind Of Love
3. Miss Chatelaine
4. Wash Me Clean
5. So It Shall Be
Side B:
1. Still Thrives This Love
2. Season Of Hollow Soul
3. Outside Myself
4. TearsOf Love's Recall
5. Constant Craving

MTV Unplugged
Side A:

1. Save Me 
2. The Mind Of Love
3. So It Shall Be
4. Miss Chatelaine
Side B:
1. Season Of Hollow Soul
2. Wash Me Clean
3. Constant Craving
4. Still Thrives This Love

2017 Nonesuch