Joy Division - Closer [LP] (180 Gram, 2007 remasters)

Hot Tracks

$ 21.98 

180g Vinyl Pressed at Record Industry From 2007 Master!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 157/500!

Closer has been painstakingly replicated as per the original release whilst also improving and enhancing on the quality of print. The album is pressed on 180gm heavyweight, black vinyl using the 2007 remasters.

The news of singer Ian Curtis's suicide still hung in the air when this album was released. Given the deep introspective nature of Joy Division's music, his death invested CLOSER with an even greater pessimism. Yet there is a fragile beauty in its content and if Curtis's voice seems more distant, it complements the sparse textures created by mesmerizing synthesizer lines and occasional, highly effective, piano. Slow, hypnotic tempos increase the sense of brooding mystery and if the few faster songs provide musical relief, their lyrics prove equally tortured. Eerie, yet compulsive, CLOSER confirmed Joy Division's pre-eminent place in rock's pantheon.

"One of the most depressing albums ever made, with droning guitars and synthesizers, chilly bass lines, stentorian vocals and drums that sound as if they're steadily beating out the rhythm of doom. And that's not even considering the lyrics, which are about singer Ian Curtis' failing marriage and how he suffered from epilepsy. (Curtis hanged himself on May 18th, 1980, at the age of twenty-three — the rest of the band regrouped as New Order) Though Joy Division fully earned their reputation as England's most harrowing punk band, they weren't always gloomy; on trips from Manchester to London, they'd pass the time by mooning other cars." -

Rolling Stone - Ranked #56 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Albums Of The 80s" survey. (November 1989)

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.134) - Ranked #157 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Record Industry from 2007 master

Ian Curtis, vocals
Bernard Sumner, guitar, keyboards
Peter Hook, bass
Stephen Morris, drums

1. Atrocity Exhibition
2. Isolation
3. Passover
4. Colony
5. A Means To An End
6. Heart And Soul
7. Twenty Four Hours
8. The Eternal
9. Decades