John Coltrane - Afro Blue Impressions [2LP]


$ 30.98 


The recordings that make up Afro Blue Impressions were acquired by jazz impresario/auteur Norman Granz during the tours he produced for many jazz
artists during the 1960s, though they weren't issued until 1973. Recorded at shows in Berlin and Stockholm, the John Coltrane Quartet -- with pianist
McCoy Tyner, bassist Jimmy Garrison, and drummer Elvin Jones -- is in tremendous form here, using a familiar repertoire in order to expand upon the
group's own building blocks in creating the new post-harmonic system that the saxophonist was developing. Afro Blue Impressions is a rhythm collision,
where mode gives way to some of Trane's most angular soprano playing, pushing the limits of the instrument and his own dexterity to near breaking
points. This is the sound of one of the greatest -- albeit short-lived -- quartets in jazz history completely coming into its own in concert.
Newly re-issued 2-disc set
John Coltrane: one of the greatest Saxophonists in history, and one of the most influential musicians of all-time.
Special Vinyl Reissue!
Disc One
01. Lonnie's Lament (10:16)
02. Naima (8:06)
03. Chasin' The Trane (5:48)
04. My Favorite Things (21:10)
Disc Two
01. Afro Blue (4:43)
02. Cousin Mary (9:55)
03. I Want To Talk About You (8:20)
04. Spiritual (12:30)
05. Impressions (11:36