John Mayall - Sun Is Shining Down [LP] (Blue Colored Vinyl) (limited)

Hot Tracks

$ 29.98 

Sorry, this product is temporarily out of stock.


Blues Legend on Limited Blue Colored Vinyl LP!
Featuring Mike Campbell, Marcus King, Buddy Miller, Melvin Taylor & More!

On his latest album, The Sun is Shining Down, blues legend John Mayall teams up with a stellar cast to deliver a funky soulful affair punctuated by brass, violins, harmonica and electric ukulele. Special guests include The Heartbreakers' Mike Campbell, fast-rising roots rocker Marcus King, Americana icon Buddy Miller, Scarlet Rivera of Bob Dylan's Rolling Thunder Review, Chicago blues guitar mainstay Melvin Taylor and Hawaiian ukulele star Jake Shimabukuro. Also on hand are Mayall's longtime dynamic Chicago rhythm section of Greg Rzab on bass guitar and Jay Davenport on drums with Austin's multi-talented and charismatic Carolyn Wonderland on guitar.

Recorded at Robby Krieger's (The Doors) Horse Latitudes studio with Grammy-nominated producer Eric Corne, The Sun is Shining Down is Mayall's 5th studio album for Forty Below Records, a fruitful partnership that began with 2014's A Special Life.

"I couldn't be happier with the new record," raves Mayall. "I can't wait to share it with my fans. Each one of these special guests brings something unique to the album and our team works so well together. I think you can hear that chemistry in the music."

The album explores a range of styles and eclectic instruments. Scarlet Rivera's violin beautifully compliments two Mayall originals, the timely "Got to Find a Better Way" and a spirited reboot of the Mayall classic "Deep Blue Sea". Mike Campbell sounds like a natural born Bluesbreaker on the funky Bernard Allison cut "Chills and Thrills" and Marcus King sizzles throughout the soulful "Can't Take No More," another Mayall original. Buddy Miller's baritone tremolo guitar adds a unique and memorable flair to the Bobby Rush composition "I'm as Good as Gone", while Jake Shimabukuro's electric ukulele is nothing short of astonishing on "One Special Lady". Melvin Taylor proves why he's been wowing Chicago blues audiences for decades on "Hungry and Ready" and "Driving Wheel" and Carolyn Wonderland brilliantly concludes the record with a sensitive moving performance on the title track.

As significant as each of these guest turns is, however, they can't overshadow Mayall's own spirited vocals, iconic harmonica and lyrical keyboard work on The Sun is Shining Down. "John shines throughout this album, exuding a joy and gratitude that are infectious. We all want to give that back to him," adds producer Eric Corne.

...[Mayall's] ability to write and record vital modern blues with excellent musicians continues unabated.... Hopefully, life goes according to plan and Mayall gets to deliver many more recordings before he's done, because The Sun Is Shining Down sounds hungry and vital. Mayall delivers these rough-and-ready blues like a champ.
-Thom Jurek,, 4/5 stars


  • Vinyl LP
  • Limited Blue Colored Edition


Side A:

  1. Hungry and Ready (Feat. Melvin Taylor)
  2. Can't Take No More (Feat. Marcus King)
  3. I'm As Good As Gone (Feat. Buddy Miller)
  4. Got to Find a Better Way (Feat. Scarlet Rivera)
  5. One Special Lady (Feat. Jake Shimabukuro)

Side B:

  1. Chills and Thrills (Feat. Mike Campbell)
  2. A Quitter Never Wins
  3. Deep Blue Sea (Feat. Scarlet Rivera)
  4. Driving Wheel (Feat. Melvin Taylor)
  5. The Sun Is Shining Down (Feat. Carolyn Wonderland)

        2022Forty Below