John Denver - Rocky Mountain High [LP] (Transparent Blue Vinyl, 50th Anniversary Edition)

Hot Tracks

$ 26.98 


Limited Edition Blue Vinyl LP!
50th Anniversary of Long Out of Print Classic!
Only 5,000 Copies Pressed!

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Rocky Mountain High album and song, John Denver's Windstar Records is reissuing the album on limited edition blue vinyl. Originally released September 15, 1972, Rocky Mountain High was Denver's first Top 10 album, propelled by the self-titled single. In 2007, the title track was made a state song of Colorado. The album has gone on to earn 2x Platinum status and the title track certified Gold.

In the early 1970s, Denver was one of the first artists to share an environmental message through his music, and fans responded. John understood that responsibility came with having a public voice. The album's iconic namesake "Rocky Mountain High" was written while Denver was camping in the Rocky Mountains during the Perseid Meteor Shower, with lyrics expressing the love and wonder John Denver felt for his adopted state of Colorado, and speaking of environmental sustainability. Released while war was raging in Vietnam, the album's second single "Prisoners" tells a story of prisoners of war. The album also features Denver's take on songs by The Beatles and John Prine, and the five-part Season Suite finds reflection through the seasons.


  • Limited Edition - 5,000 Copies
  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • Blue Vinyl


Side 1:

  1. Rocky Mountain High
  2. Mother Nature's Son
  3. Paradise
  4. For Baby (For Bobbie)
  5. Darcy Farrow
  6. Prisoners

Side 2:

  1. Goodbye Again
  1. Summer
  2. Fall
  3. Winter
  4. Late Winter, Early Spring (When Everybody Goes to Mexico)
  5. Spring

2022 Windstar Records