Jefferson Airplane -Takes Off [LP] Translucent Blue 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl/SS


$ 31.98 

180g Audiophile Translucent Blue Vinyl!
Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso!
Pressed at RTI!

1966 was an amazing year for rock music, and San Francisco was the place to be for legendary classic rock band like Jefferson Airplane. With a top billing in intimate setting like The Matrix and the Fillmore West, the soon to be legendary musicians would become one of the first San Francisco rock groups to sign a major recording contract.

Jefferson Airplane's Takes Off album exhibits the making of a groundbreaking band, combining their folk, rock and blues roots while recording a dynamic rock LP for the masses. Documenting their journey together, Takes Off shows how Signe Anderson, Paul Kantner, Marty Balin, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady and Skip Spence (Moby Grape) incredibly gel in the studio with amazing results. As Jorma Kaukonen states, "You just can't plan this kind of thing."

The 1966 record buying public reacted generously and gave the band their first gold album as well as a hit single with the Marty Balin rocker "It's No Secret". Even more stellar album tracks like "Blues From an Airplane", "Come Up The Years" and "Chauffeur Blues" would all become standard Airplane classics in the years to follow.

Several months later in 1967, the band would go on to control the top rungs of the charts and become one of the most influential bands in classic rock and change popular music history.

Friday Music is honored to present another exciting installment in their Jefferson Airplane 180g Audiophile Vinyl series with the groundbreaking "Takes Off" LP. Their debut RCA album showcases the newly crowned rock champions in a light that many just read about, who now have an impeccably mastered document to hear for all time.

This first time audiophile vinyl release is impeccably mastered by Joe Reagoso. The LP is pressed for a short time on Translucent Blue Vinyl at RTI, featuring new liner notes from Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady in a first time gatefold cover.

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl - New and sealed
• Translucent Blue Vinyl
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios
• Pressed at RTI
• Gatefold jacket
• New liner notes by Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady

Side A:

1. Blues From An Airplane
2. Let Me In
3. Bringing me Down
4. It's No Secret
5. Tobacco Road

Side B:
1. Come Up the Years
2. Run Around
3. Let's Get Together
4. Don't Slip Away
5. Chauffeur Blues
6. And I Like It