Jayhawks, The - Smile [2LP]


$ 34.98 


With Smile, the Jayhawks drop yet another sizable chunk of their alt-country sound by the roadside, adding in its place healthy doses of power pop and
modern electronic music. Almost half of Smile's songs feature looped percussion, overdubbed drum tracks, or flat-out, funky backbeats. Despite the
modern touches, though, the fact remains that Smile retains just enough of a distinctly Americana feeling. On the warm and twangy ''Better Days,'' one of
Louris' best songs, he sings with genuine regret and heartache the way he treated a long ago lover, and on ''Break in the Clouds'' he celebrates the
comforts of domestic contentment, complete with pedal steel and soaring harmonies that recall the band's landmark work Hollywood Town Hall from
1992. What never changes on the Jayhawks' albums, it seems, are the blissful melodies and well-constructed tunes. This remastered edition includes
bonus tracks.
Side 1 (15:58)
1. Smile
2. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
3. What Led Me to This Town
4. Somewhere in Ohio
Side 2 (19:05)
5. A Break in the Clouds
6. Queen of the World
7. Life Floats By
8. Broken Harpoon
9. Pretty Thing
Side 3 (19:21)
10. Mr Wilson
11. Wildest Dreams
12. Better Days
13. Baby, Baby, Baby
Side 4 (22:49) BONUS TRACKS
14. Who Made You King
15. Gypsy in the Mood
16. A Part of You
17. Life's Little Ups and Downs
18. Greta Garbo
19. Five Cornered Blues


2014 American Records