Grateful Dead, The - Europe '72 [3LP] 180gram Triple Live Classic Release!

Hot Tracks

$ 64.98 




180g 3LP Set Mastered From Original Analog Masters by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios and Pressed at RTI!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: The Grateful Dead Rated 1st!

Grateful Dead's Europe '72 is a live 3LP album which includes performances from their Western Europe tour in 1972.

This was the group's third live double or triple album which reveals how their reputation rested on their live performances. The liner notes simply stated: "There is nothing like a Grateful Dead concert."

Although the band was out of the country, Europe '72 showcased the Dead's mixture of American bluegrass, folk and country influences. "Jack Straw" reveals an archetypal American image while songs like "Cumberland Blues" and "Tennessee Jed" were firmly rooted in their regional feeling. "Truckin'", which had recently become the band's first hit song, catalogued its own troubled-but-resilient pathway through American life.

This would be Ron "Pigpen" McKernan's last tour with the Grateful Dead before he died in 1973.

Europe '72's original packaging was designed by Alton Kelly and Stanley Mouse. The ice cream to the forehead incident actually happened while Kelley was in New Haven. Kelley, Bill Brockett, Franz Douskey and Bill Ness used to hang out together. One night, after buying ice cream, Bill Brockett took his cone and smashed it on his forehead. The image stuck in Kelley's head and was used on the live album cover.

To ensure the highest degree of quality, this album was pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI using lacquers cut from the original analog masters by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

• Three LP set
• Tri-Fold gatefold jacket
• Premium 180g vinyl pressing
• Pressed at RTI
• Lacquers cut from original analog masters
• Mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering

LP 1

1. Cumberland Blues
2. He's Gone
3. One More Saturday Night
4. Jack Straw
5. You Win Again
6. China Cat Sunflower
7. I Know You Rider
LP 2
1. Brown-Eyed Women
2. Hurts Me Too
3. Ramble On Rose
4. Sugar Magnolia
5. Mr. Charlie
6. Tennessee Jed
LP 3
1. Truckin'
2. Epilogue
3. Prelude
4. Morning Dew

2011 Grateful Dead Productions