Emmylou Harris - Light Of The Stable [LP] (180 Gram, download)


$ 26.98 


One of the best selling Christmas ablums of all time.

Emmylou Harris' Light of the Stable debuted in 1979, with its title track featuring backing vocals from Neil Young, Linda Ronstadt and Dolly Parton. The sublime Rodney Crowell-penned "Angel Eyes," composed specially for this album, features Ricky Skaggs on mandolin and Skaggs and Willie Nelson on vocal harmony, and is just one of the many highlights. This radiant acoustic masterpiece - graced throughout with the presence of stellar guests - features both contemporary and traditional gems.
"Harris has always sung like an angel, and on this 1979 album she played the part, a living herald of joyful Nativity tidings. Some of the other golden-throated seraphim providing backing vocals: Linda Ronstadt, Dolly Parton, and, er, Neil Young. On an album that's both rootsy and restrained, Harris is backed by a top-notch group of Nashville pros, but the prettiest track is probably the a cappella version of "The First Noel." - #20 on Rolling Stone's 40 Essential Christmas Albums
Emmylou Harris Light Of The Stable - The Christmas Album Track Listing:
1.  Christmas Time's A-Coming
2.  O Little Town Of Bethlehem
3.  Away In A Manger
4.  Angel Eyes (Angel Eyes)
5.  The First Noel
6.  Beautiful Star Of Bethlehem
7.  Little Drummer Boy
8.  Golden Cradle
9.  Silent Night
10. Light Of The Stable