Elvis Costello & The Roots - Wise Up Ghost [2LP]


$ 29.98 


Long-rumored and shrouded in mystery, this collaborative album between Elvis Costello and The Roots promises to be one of the most unexpected and
revelatory releases of 2013. Born out of multiple performances by Costello on the Roots' day/night job at Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, this album
developed organically and is definitely a situation where the whole is greater than the sum of the amazing parts. It surprises with how good the two
elements gel, but also sounds exactly how you'd think in your wildest dreams. As The Roots' ?uestlove notes, ''it's a moody, brooding affair, cathartic
rhythms and dissonant lullabies. I went stark and dark on the music. Elvis went HAM on some ole Ezra Pound shit''
''Really does combine the strengths of its authors: Costello's voice, lyrics, and melody are driven by the Roots' powerful, swinging groove.'' - Stereogum
''Sounds like vintage Costello, with a deep, dubby bassline'' - Los Angeles Times
''A funky, icy groove, replete with a throwback organ sound and Costello singing like he did in his ''Watching the Detectives'' era.'' - SPIN
Track listing:
1. Walk Us UPTOWN (3:22)
2. SUGAR Won't Work (3:30)
3. REFUSE To Be Saved (4:22)
4. WAKE Me Up (5:52)
5. TRIPWIRE (4:28)
6. Stick Out Your TONGUE (5:27)
7. Come The MEANTIMES (3:52)
8. (She Might Be A) GRENADE (4:36)
9. CINCO Minutos Con Vos (5:00)
10. VICEROY'S Row (5:01)
11. Wise Up GHOST (6:26)
12. If I Could BELIEVE (3:57)
Bonus Tracks for DELUXE EDITIONS:
13. My New HAUNT (4:39)
14. Can You HEAR Me? (6:26)
15. The PUPPET Has Cut His Strings (4:57)