Elton John - Madman Across The Water [4LP Boxset] (50th Anniversary, 40 page booklet, reproduced 1971 poster, memorabilia & artwork from the Rocket Archive)

Hot Tracks

$ 199.98 


50th Anniversary Edition 4LP Box Set!

Cut at Abbey Road Studios!

Original Album Remastered + Demos, Live & Alternate Versions & 1972 BBC Concert!

Includes a Reproduction 1971 Poster!

Spawning the hits "Tiny Dancer" and "Levon", Madman Across The Water was Elton's fourth studio album, released only two years after his debut. Recorded in 1971, it was a foundation stone of what was to become a dazzlingly prolific decade for the global-icon-in-waiting. Madman Across The Water was largely written after Elton had made his initial foray to America, offering the opportunity for lyricist Bernie Taupin to witness first-hand the landscapes and people he'd only seen on a screen or on the page. Recorded at Trident Studios in Central London in February and August 1971, it was the first album where all five players of Elton's fabled band lineup (Dee Murray, Nigel Olsson, Davey Johnstone, and Ray Cooper) were featured. The album also featured Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman, who plays Hammond organ on three songs.

The box set includes a 40-page booklet with introductions by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, photos and full essay featuring interviews with many who helped make Madman Across The Water, plus a reproduction 1971 poster, as well as memorabilia and artwork from the Rocket Archive.


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • 4LP Box Set
  • Cut at Abbey Road Studios
  • LP1: Madman Across the Water Remastered by Bob Ludwig in 2016
  • LP2 & 3: Demos, Live & Alternative Versions
  • LP4: BBC Sounds for Saturday Concert, First Broadcast in 1972
  • 40-Page Booklet with Introductions by Elton & Bernie, Photos & Full Essay with Interviews
  • Reproduction 1971 Poster
  • Artwork from the Rocket Archive
  • Made in Germany


Madman Across the Water (2016 Bob Ludwig Remaster)

  1. Tiny Dancer
  2. Levon
  3. Razor Face
  4. Madman Across The Water
  1. Indian Sunset
  2. Holiday Inn
  3. Rotten Peaches
  4. All The Nasties
  5. Goodbye

Demos, Live and Alternative Versions

  1. Indian Sunset (Live Radio Broadcast)
  2. Madman Across The Water (Original Version, featuring Mick Ronson)
  3. Rock Me When He's Gone
  4. Levon (Mono Single Version)
  1. Razor Face (Extended Version)
  2. Rock Me When He's Gone (Piano Demo)
  3. Rock Me When He's Gone (Full Version)
  1. Madman Across The Water (1970 Piano Demo)
  2. Tiny Dancer (Piano Demo)
  3. Levon (Piano Demo)
  4. Razor Face (Piano Demo)
  5. Madman Across The Water (1971 Piano Demo)
  1. Indian Sunset (Piano Demo)
  2. Holiday Inn (Piano Demo)
  3. Rotten Peaches (Piano Demo)
  4. All The Nasties (Piano Demo)
  5. Goodbye (Piano Demo)

BBC Sounds For Saturday

  1. Tiny Dancer
  2. Rotten Peaches
  3. Razor Face
  4. Holiday Inn
  1. Indian Sunset
  2. Levon
  3. Madman Across The Water
  4. Goodbye

2022 UMC