Ella Fitzgerald & Count Basie - On The Sunny Side Of The Street [LP] (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl)


$ 40.98 


Birds of a feather flock together! If this adage really held true, then the ''grande dame'' of swing and the pianist would surely not have waited until they were at the very peaks of their tremendous careers to make this recording. Third in the line-up of top musicians from the American jazz scene is Quincy Jones whose arrangements are uniquely suited to Ella's unmatched voice and the Count's big-band sound and which allow each artist's individuality to shimmer through unhindered.
Classical evergreens such as Honeysuckle Rose, Tea for Two and Ain't Misbehavin' are the topics of exciting musical conversation here; these and other favourite melodies are enhanced with the gentle sound of the saxophone and razor-sharp screams on the trumpet, lending them a quite new aspect. By no means neglecting the proverbial striking force and precision of the Basie style, the arrangements offer plenty of scope for Ella's dusky voice and her highly popular ''ba-ba-lu-ba'' sections.
Fortunately, the sound on this VERVE recording is situated ''on the sunny side of the street''. The immediate presence of the vocal part, a fresh instrumental timbre and a pleasantly dry playhouse atmosphere all guarantee sheer delight for listeners to this collector's item.

Recording : July 1963 in New York City, USA

1. Honeysuckle Rose
2. 'Deed I Do
3. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall
4. Them There Eyes
5. Dream a Little Dream of Me
6. Tea for Two
7. Satin Doll
8. I'm Beginning to See the Light
9. Shiny Stockings
10. My Last Affair
11. Ain't Misbehavin'
12. On the Sunny Side of the Street
13. My Last Affair
14. My Last Affair
15. Robbins Nest (Breakdown)
16. Robbins Nest
17. Robbins Nest
18. Robbins Nest