Eddie Higgins Quartet - My Foolish Heart [LP] (180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, limited to 500, import)


$ 57.98 


Limited Edition 180g Vinyl! Only 500 Copies To Be Pressed!

Eddie Higgins performs ballads with a jazz flair along with Scott Hamilton, Steve Gilmore, and Bill Goodwin.

''Joined by two-thirds of Phil Woods' longtime rhythm section (Steve Gilmore and Bill Goodwin), along with special guest Scott Hamilton on tenor sax, Higgins explores...ballads, most of which have been favorites of jazz musicians longer than the pianist has been playing professionally. Higgins doesn't mind taking a back seat to Hamilton's Ben Webster-inspired tenor, though he can also wail when he chooses to do so... [T]his is excellent music that will provide a perfect backdrop for any jazz fan's romantic evening.'' - Ken Dryden, allmusic.com

Scott Hamilton's playing has best been described by fellow tenor saxophonist and writer, Dave Gelly: ''Following a Scott Hamilton solo is like listening to a great conversationalist in full flow. First comes the voice, the inimitable, assured sound of his tenor saxophone, then the informal style and finally the amazing fluency and eloquent command of the jazz language.'' Scott was awarded the 'Ronnie' for International Jazz Saxophonist of the Year in the 2007 inaugural Ronnie Scott's Jazz Awards. It is no wonder that Scott Hamilton is in demand the world over.

Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York on September 26 and 27, 2002.

* Limited Edition - 500 copies
* 180g Vinyl
* Made in Germany
* Recorded at Avatar Studio in New York, September 24-25, 2002
* Mixed and mastered by Venus 24bit Hyper Magnum Sound by Shuji Kitamura and Tetsuo Hara

Eddie Higgins, piano
Scott Hamilton, tenor saxophone
Steve Gilmore, bass
Bill Goodwin, drums

Side A:
1. My Foolish Heart
2. What is There To Say
3. Skylark
4. Night and Day
Side B:
1. Russian Lullaby
2. Am I Blue
3. These Foolish Things