Din/Dettmann/Wiedemann/Henrik Schwarz - Masse Box [3LP+CD] (limited to 500)


$ 91.98 


The Masse Box comprises the album Masse and the three remix EPs from DIN,
Dettmann/Wiedemann and Henrik Schwarz in one set. It contains the CD in a 6-
panel digipak and three 12'' vinyl singles in three separate covers. The CD and vinyl are
housed in a luxurious case made from 800 g/m2 carton with a matte foil lamination and a
partial UV spot gloss decoration. The box is released as a limited edition of 500. The CD: A
whole evening of contemporary dance which has been set up by three different
choreographers is in need of three different sound producers. That's the set-up of Masse, the
sound underlying the gesamtkunstwerk (trans. the entirely of a work of art). Masse as a
whole event has been triggered by renowned state ensemble Staatsballett Berlin and Club
Berghain right in the center of the German capital. Plus, there's even more to it: The
Staatsballett and Berghain access new territory by staging Masse at the huge ''Halle am
Berghain,'' a former combined heat and power station next to the club. The painter Norbert
Bisky was chosen to create the stage design. At the core of the dance night lies a triptych
made out of pure sound: the music of Henrik Schwarz, Dettmann/Wiedemann and DIN was
taken as the starting point for developing the choreographies. Henrik Schwarz opens his
suite with ''Unknown Touch,'' a dense exposition made from acoustic guitars and pizzicato
strings floating in the atmosphere. The subsequent tracks let the bass lines wander amongst
throbbing electrified guitars, both characterized by their clearly structured arrangements.
Creating a narrative break, a synthesizer cuts into the groovy moves of ''But Then I'm
Different,'' accompanied by a sighing violin. To top things off in the final track of ''Balletsuite
#1 -- Masse,'' a dreamy and summing-up house piano is aired. The solo piano ends with a
quiet closing sequence slowing down the keys more and more to a final silent crescendo.
Marcel Dettmann & Frank Wiedemann are also close associates of the Ostgut Ton family and
are in charge of the second part, ''Menuett.'' Theirs is a 25-minute-long sonic-triptych:
''Accelerando'' sounds like two space observation centers having a chat, while ''Martellato''
juggles the filters until the polyrhythm somehow transforms into a circling movement. A
syncopated beat and some shrewd filters bring light into ''Spiritoso'' -- like fundamental
electronic research into sound. DIN are Efdemin (Phillip Sollmann) & Marcel Fengler,
who created this new alias for Masse. Similar to Dettmann/Wiedemann, the Berlin musicians
utilize ever new parts of their machine park to create musical abstractions. Out of the
humming virginal cosmos of ''Creation'' and ''Variation,'' mid-range bass drums take shape
until they poke a rattling rhythm pattern. In a similar way, ''Oscillation'' first takes a bath in
the primeval soup until the drums of an unheard-of tribe are arranged by an invisible hand to
engineer a gentle, flowing movement. This progression becomes more delicate in ''Division''
and ''Generation,'' until it unwinds at the stage of ''Conclusion'' to fade out as a nocturne
with an urban touch. Given the different aesthetics of the producers that built Masse, it's an
uncanny pleasure to hear how its music as a whole shapes a fine sonic entity.
Henrik Schwarz - Balletsuite #1 - Masse
01. Unknown Touch
02. Affect Structure
03. I Am Not Responsible for That
04. But Then I'm Different
05. When Things Are Difficult
06. Couple Are Strong
Dettmann/Wiedemann - Menuett
07. Part 1 - Accelerando
08. Part 2 - Martellato
09. Part 3 - Spiritoso
10. (prelude)
11. Creation
12. Variation
13. Oscillation
14. Division
15. Generation
16. Conclusion
12'' #1 (DIN - Masse Remixes I)
A1. Euphorium
B1. Aetas
12'' #2 (Dettmann/Wiedemann - Masse Remixes II)
A1. Spiritoso (Club Version)
B1. Martellato (Club Version)
12'' #3 (Henrik Schwarz - Masse Remixes III)
A1. Lockstep
B1. Unknown Touch Two