DevilDriver - Winter Kills [2LP]


$ 23.98 


Devildriver overlord Dez Fafara will readily acknowledge the
basic tenet of heavy metal is to achieve the essence of power
and complete freedom. At the most base level, it's a concept that
can manifest itself in the form of a high-speed joyride or defeating
one's antagonists, be they Frank Frazetta-rendered warriors or the
guy/girl who was looking at your lover too long at the biker bar and
now has a concussion and a collection of broken pool cues. On
Devildriver's sixth release, Winter Kills, the band certainly didn't
skimp on the riffage, the idling-dragster tempos or the sheer sonic
drive that makes them one of heavy music's respected outfits.
Winter Kills is all about the creation of flashover moments to
empower people with hope and affirmation - or at the very least,
the inspiration for people to create great work and engineer their
own meaningful universes. This ain't no tired Tony Robbins posiposturing
or Joel Osteen's cartoony, cash-and-Christ posing. The
world got more oppressive, and Devildriver are stepping up their
game to keep hope alive in the most bone-powdering, cochleableeding,
neck-snapping way possible.
1. Oath of the Abyss
2. Ruthless
3. Desperate Times
4. Winter Kills
5. The Appetite
6. Gutted
7. Curses And Epitaphs
8. Carings Overkill
9. Haunting Refrain
10. Tripping Over Tombstones
11. Sail
12. Shudder (Bonus Track)
13. Back Down To The Grave (Bonus Track)