Dead Can Dance - Into The Labyrinth [2LP] (Audiophile Vinyl, numbered/limited)


$ 39.98 


REPRESSED! Numbered Limited Edition 2LP Set from Mobile Fidelity Silver Label

Dead Can Dance's 1993 Album an Ethereal Gem of Ethnic Fusion

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's World-Renowned Mastering System and Pressed at RTI: 2LP Set Sounds Absolutely Gorgeous

Spiritchaser Also Available on 2LP Set from Silver Label

Just as Dead Can Dance were utterly distinctive, so too, is the group's Into the Labyrinth, the scintillating 1993 album that catapulted the Australian duo to greater mainstream success. Widely considered the group's best work, the album finds members Gerald Perry and Lisa Gerrard moving away from the Renaissance style of their earlier albums and finding new ways of fusing ethnic sounds. Ethereal, textured, and deeply spiritual, Into the Labyrinth is one of the most gorgeous albums you will ever hear.

Anchored by Gerrard's stunning glossolalia vocals - her language-defying singing on tracks such as ''Aridane'' meets every definition of speaking in tongues - and Perry's kaleidoscopic arrangements, the record's exotic soundscapes mesmerize at every turn. What's most amazing is that Gerrard and Perry play all of the instruments on the album, which was recorded in the Quivvy Church in Ireland, resulting in optimum sound quality, natural resonance, and lifelike dimensions.

Each song is an exercise in atmosphere, emotion, and beauty. Perry contributes gothic-style vocals to the alternative radio hit and biting ''The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove,'' an Indian-flavored tune informed by raga drones, orchestral swells, and a gradual pace. Similarly, he channels his key influence - Joy Division's Ian Curtis - on ''The Carnival Is Over,'' which balances circus melodies against spry keyboard riffs. A smart commentary on mankind, ''How Fortunate the Man with None'' is a haunting adaptation of the Berthold Brecht classic that will stick with you for days. In other places, the album comes off as an autumnal film soundtrack replete with Gregorian chants, swirling sounds, and cerebral pop.

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's world-renowned mastering system and pressed at RTI, Silver Labels' numbered limited edition 2LP set presents Dead Can Dance's studio masterpiece with awe-inspiring clarity and unprecedented depth. Largely dependent on delicate nuances and containing countless examples of otherworldly textural detail, the music takes on an even deeper meaning and significance that's on the level of majestic transcendence. Silver Series' unsurpassed analog version of Into the Labyrinth is one of the reasons you own a hi-fi system.

Dead Can Dance Into the Labyrinth Track Listing:

1. ''Yulunga (Spirit Dance)'' - 6:56
2. ''The Ubiquitous Mr Lovegrove'' - 6:17
3. ''The Wind That Shakes the Barley'' - 2:49
4. ''The Carnival Is Over'' - 5:28
5. ''Ariadne'' - 1:54
6. ''Saldek'' - 1:07
7. ''Towards the Within'' - 7:06
8. ''Tell Me About the Forest (You Once Called Home)'' - 5:42
9. ''The Spider's Stratagem'' - 6:42
10. ''Emmeleia'' - 2:04
11. ''How Fortunate the Man With None'' - 9:15


2014 Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Silver Label