David Bowie - Zeroes: Radio Edit b/w Beat Of Your Drum: Radio Edit [7''] (Picture Disc)

Hot Tracks

$ 15.98 


      Limited Edition 45rpm 7" Vinyl Picture Disc!

      September 2018 sees the release of the limited edition DAVID BOWIE 7" picture disc, a double A-side of the radio edits of the 2018 versions of ZEROES and BEAT OF YOUR DRUM. Both tracks are from NEVER LET ME DOWN (2018), a new version of the 1987 album featured in the boxset LOVING THE ALIEN (1983-1988). 

      NEVER LET ME DOWN (2018), is a new production of Bowie’s final ‘solo’ album of the ‘80s. Producer Mario McNulty worked on the tracks at Electric Lady Studios in New York with longtime Bowie musicians Sterling Campbell (Black Tie White Noise, Outside, ‘hours…’, Heathen, Reality and The Next Day) on drums, Reeves Gabrels (Tin Machine, Black Tie White Noise, Outside, Earthling and ‘hours...') & David Torn (Heathen, Reality and The Next Day) on guitars and Tim Lefebvre (Blackstar) on bass. 

      ZEROES, the lyrics of which reference Prince’s Little Red Corvette was Bowie’s salute to the ‘60s. He described it as “The ultimate happy-go-lucky rock tune, based in the nonsensical period of psychedelia”. Mario McNulty commented, "Stripping this song down to its core revealed a track that could have been right at home on Hunky Dory, I kept Peter Frampton’s sitar (which was originally owned by Jimi Hendrix) as it still fits against the new guitars from Reeves Gabrels”. 

      Of BEAT OF YOUR DRUM Mario McNulty says, “David Torn’s ambient guitars start the song that now lead into a much darker world than its shiny predecessor. David sang all the backing vocals on this which I have kept.”

      The images on both sides of the picture disc are by Greg Gorman and are outtakes from the Never Let Me Down album photo session. Alternate versions of these are used on the cover of NEVER LET ME DOWN (2018).

      • 45rpm 7" Vinyl Picture Disc
      • Mixed and Recorded by Mario J. McNulty

      Side A
      : Zeroes (2018) Radio Edit
      Side AA: Beat Of Your Drum (2018) Radio Edit

      2018 Rhino