Dave Matthews Band - Under The Table And Dreaming [2LP] (download)

Hot Tracks

$ 25.98 


180g Vinyl Double LP Reissue of 1994 Debut Album!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: Dave Matthews Band Rated 5th!

Under the Table and Dreaming was the 1994 debut album from the Dave Matthews Band. The album contains the single "What Would You Say," which features Blues Travelers' John Popper on harmonica. Two other singles from the album are "Ants Marching" and "Satellite."

Originally released on RCA Records on September 27, 1994, Dave Matthews Band's Under The Table And Dreaming introduced the Virginia-based quintet to a national audience with an alternative, folk-tinged approach to pop/rock music that resonated in a post-grunge world.

The Virginia-based Dave Matthews Band — singer/guitarist Dave Matthews, drummer Carter Beauford, saxophonist LeRoi Moore, violinist Boyd Tinsley and bassist Stefan Lessard — earned early acclaim as independent artists for Remember Two Things, which captured the band's diverse sound in a mostly live setting. The group's impressive fan base led to a deal with RCA Records, who paired them up for their first studio album with acclaimed producer Steve Lillywhite, whose eclectic work included collaborations with U2, The Rolling Stones, Peter Gabriel and The Pogues.

Lillywhite's crisp approach in the studio was an intriguing complement to the band's loose and easygoing but intricately-arranged song styles, making for an album that satisfied longtime fans while attracting new listeners. (Lillywhite would produce the band's next two albums and reunited with DMB on 2012's Away From The World.) 

New studio recordings of "Ants Marching" (their first Top 40 hit) and "Satellite," heard in live form on Remember Two Things, remain highlights, along with the spirited lead single "What Would You Say" (powered by a harmonica solo from John Popper of Blues Traveler and a colorful, Grammy Award-nominated video that earned heavy rotation on MTV) plus live favorites "Jimi Thing," "Dancing Nancies" and "Typical Situation." Ultimately, the album was certified six times platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America and remains one of the band's most beloved studio releases.

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP

Side A:

1. The Best of What's Around
2. What Would You Say
3. Satellite
Side B:
4. Rhyme & Reason
5. Typical Situation
6. Dancing Nancies

Side C:
1. Ants Marching
2. Lover Lay Down
3. Jimi Thing
Side D:
4. Warehouse
5. Pay For What You Get
6. #34

2018 RCA/Legacy