Dave Brubeck Quartet - Time Outtakes [LP] (import)

Hot Tracks

$ 26.98 


Previously Unreleased Takes From The Original 1959 Sessions On Vinyl LP!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the March 2021 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Time OutTakes contains previously unreleased takes from the original 1959 sessions master tapes. These newly discovered recordings feature wonderful performances that are every bit as compelling as those on the original Time Out. We discovered that during the original 1959 sessions the Quartet also recorded "I'm In a Dancing Mood" and an unlisted trio jam with a major drum solo that included snatches of the melody from "Watusi Drums." Two tracks from Time Out, "Pick Up Sticks" and "Everybody's Jumpin'," were achieved in one take so no alternates exist to include here. These seven new performances (and bonus track) are fascinating finds.

The main value of Time OutTakes is probably the chance to compare different improvisations from take to take, noting that the solos on 'Cathy's Waltz' and 'Blue Rondo a la Turk' are arguably better than those on the original issue. The alternate of 'Take Five' is not as successful, but it is fascinating to hear the completely different approach that was tried along the way. Even the off-the-cuff trio warmup, 'Watusi Jam,' is a little gem. Expectations for Time OutTakes are certainly high, but it delivers.
-Duck Baker, The Absolute Sound, March 2021, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5


  • Vinyl LP
  • Previously unreleased takes from original 1959 master tapes
  • Bonus Track
  • Gatefold jacket


Side A:

  1. Blue Rondo à la Turk
  2. Strange Meadowlark
  3. Take Five

Side B:

  1. Three To Get Ready
  2. Cathy's Waltz
  3. I'm In A Dancing Mood
  4. Watusi Jam
  5. Band Banter From The 1959 Recording Sessions

2021 Brubeck Editions