Cult, The - Sonic Temple [3LP+Cassette] (30th Anniversary)

Hot Tracks

$ 104.98 



Numbered Limited Edition - 3000 Copies!
30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 3LP & Cassette Box Set!

Originally released in 1989, Sonic Temple proved to be a pivotal moment for both band and the wider rock scene. Produced by the legendary Bob Rock, Sonic Temple had four chart-topping singles; “Fire Woman”, “Edie (Ciao Baby)”, “Sun King” and “Sweet Soul Sister”.

In a recent interview about the album, Ian Astbury explained how the band brought together hard rock and indie rock to create the unique, game-changing sounds on Sonic Temple. "We wanted to retain our core DNA as we went deeper into psych and hard rock influences. It was a complete immersion for me into art, film, music, poetry and literature, weaving those influences into what was to become Sonic Temple. The band was becoming more popular. We were in uncharted waters. Most of the bands we had come up with had split up or fallen off. We were accelerating. There was no real time to breathe. We were forming new allegiances and breaking the glass ceiling of ‘the indie outsider.’”

The album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and remains their most commercially successful release. It has sold over 1.5 million copies in the US alone, and was declared platinum in 1990. It made it to #10 on the Billboard charts, and the aforementioned songs all remain rock-radio staples to this day. 

The Deluxe Box Set contains 3LPs and a cassette plus tour memorabilia and ephemera (replica of original laminate, backstage pass, original press releases, label copy and more). It’s numbered and limited to 3000 pieces worldwide and contains 40 tracks, four of which are previously unreleased. LPs 1+2 contain the album as originally released. LP3 contains Live At Wembley recorded by the BBC, and the included cassette contains limited-release demos. Four of the live tracks are previously unreleased.

• Numbered, Limited Edition - 3000 Copies
• Box Set
• 3LP & Cassette
• Replica of original laminate, backstage pass, Original pass releases, label copy and more

Side A:

1. Sun King
2. Fire Woman
3. American Horse
4 Edie (Ciao Baby)
Side B:
1. Sweet Soul Sister
2. Soul Asylum
3. New York City
4. Automatic Blues
Side C:
1. Soldier Blue
2. Wake Up Time For Freedom
3. Medicine Train (From the Edie (Ciao Baby) single)
4. The River (From the Sweet Soul Sister single)
Side D:
1. Bleeding Heart Graffitti (from the Edie (Ciao Baby) single)
2. Messin' Up The Blues (from the Fire Woman single)
3. Fire Woman (NYC Rock Mix) (from the Fire Woman CD EP)
4. Edie (Ciao Baby) (Acoustic) (From The Heart Of Soul CD single)
Side E:
1. New York City (live) *previously unreleased)
2. Automatic Blues (live) *previously unreleased)
3. American Horse (live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
4. Sun King (live) *previously unreleased
Side F:
1. Soul Asylum (live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
2. Sweet Soul Sister (live) (from the Sweet Soul Sister single)
3. Fire Woman (live) *previously unreleased

Side A:

1. Sonic Temple Radio Promo
2. New York City (demo)
3. American Horse (demo)
4. Sun King (demo)
5. Automatic Blues (demo)
6. Yes Man (demo)
7. Wake Up Time For Freedom (demo)
8. Citadel (demo)
9. The River (demo)
Side B:
1. The Crystal Ocean (demo)
2. Cashmere (demo)
3. Edie (Ciao Baby) (demo)
4. Bleeding Hearts Revival
5. Star Child (demo)
6. Medicine Train (Rock Demo)
7. New York City (Rock Demo)
8. Fire (Rock Demo)

2019 Beggars Banquet