The Cure - The Head On The Door [LP] (180 Gram, remastered) 2016

Hot Tracks

$ 23.98 


1985 Album Reissued On 180g Vinyl LP!

The 1985 release, The Head On the Door, was the sixth studio album from The Cure. The album brilliantly fused brooding, artistic experimentation with pop instincts to propel the band onto the American charts for the first time. The album features the signature hits "In Between Days" and "Close To Me".

Out of all the bands that emerged in the immediate aftermath of punk rock in the late '70s, few were as enduring and popular as the Cure. Led through numerous incarnations by guitarist/vocalist Robert Smith (born April 21, 1959), the band became notorious for its slow, gloomy dirges and Smith's ghoulish appearance, a public image that often hid the diversity of the Cure's music. At the outset, the Cure played jagged, edgy pop songs before slowly evolving into a more textured outfit. As one of the bands that laid the seeds for goth rock, the group created towering layers of guitars and synthesizers, but by the time goth caught on in the mid-'80s, the Cure had moved away from the genre. By the end of the '80s, the band had crossed over into the mainstream not only in its native England, but also in the United States and in various parts of Europe. The Cure remained a popular concert draw and reliable record-seller throughout the '90s, and their influence could be heard clearly on scores of new bands during the new millennium, including many that had little to do with Goth.

• 180g Vinyl

1. In Between Days
2. Kyoto Song
3. The Blood
4. Six Different Ways
5. Push
6. The Baby Screams
7. Close To Me
8. A Night Like This
9. Screw
10. Sinking

2016 Elektra