Small Faces - The BBC Sessions [LP] Limited Pink Colored Vinyl, Gatefold (import)

Hot Tracks

$ 39.98 


Limited Pink Colored Vinyl LP Pressing!

Recordings made for radio broadcast on the BBC's Saturday Club (12 tracks spread across four sessions from 1965 and 1966) and Top Gear (three songs from a 1968 session). The first appearance on Saturday Club, which showcases their debut single "Watcha Gonna Do About It", features original keyboards player Jimmy Winston, with replacement Ian McLagan playing on all subsequent dates.

As well as plugging their latest singles ("Sha-La-La-La-Lee", "Hey Girl", "All or Nothing"), the diminutive Mods cover R&Bsongs like "Baby Don't Do It" and "Shake". Labelmate P.P. Arnold can be heard contributing backing vocals to "Every Little Bit Hurts" and a muscular "If I Were a Carpenter", both from the final session which also yields "Lazy Sunday", complete with sound effects. With only "Jump Back" failing to appear on an original single or album, this collection is aimed at the completist, who will also enjoy the short linking interviews, which have been collected at the end of the limited color vinyl release.


Saturday Club, 23.08.1965

A1 Watcha Gonna Do About It

A2 Jump Back

A3 Baby Don't You Do It

Saturday Club, 14.03.1966

A4 Shake

A5 Sha La La La Lee

A6 You Need Loving

Saturday Club 03.05.1966

A7 Hey Girl

A8 E Too D 4:11

A9 One Night Stand

Saturday Club, 30.06.1966

B1 You'd Better Believe It

B2 Understanding

B3 All Or Nothing

Top Gear, 14.04.1968

B4 If I Were A Carpenter

B5 Lazy Sunday

B6 Every Little Bit Hurts

2022 Nice Records