New Cool Collective Big Band feat. Thierno Koite - New Cool Collective Big Band feat. Thierno Koite [LP] (LIMITED PURPLE/RED MIXED 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, download, gatefold, numbered to 750)

Hot Tracks

$ 25.98 

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Includes Download Coupon
  • Brand New 2017 album
  • Featuring the singles "Yassa" and "Myster Tier"
  • Limited first pressing of 750 individually numbered copies on Purple & Red Mixed vinyl
  • As a 19-person big band formation, New Cool Collective has worked on many different projects, like the annual opening of Amsterdam's Uitmarkt, Guus Meeuwis's record Hollandse Meesters as well as a string of albums. Now they are back with a new album recorded together with Senegalese saxophonist Thierno Koité of Orchestra Baobab / Le Sahel.

    During a tour and recording session in Senegal in 2013, New Cool Collective met up with Thierno Koité after an Orchestra Baobab concert. New Cool have been longtime fans of Thierno's characteristic style and timing, and Koité was a huge inspiration during the Senegal tour.

    The musicians exchanged phone numbers and in 2016 they added a new dimension to their connection. Combining forces they found the funds to organize three concerts and a recording session with Thierno in The Netherlands, eventually resulting in a complete album.

    The first 750 copies are individually numbered and pressed on coloured vinyl.

  • SIDE A
    2. CHEGA
    3. MOUSSA
    4. PADEE

  • SIDE B
    1. YASSA
    2. THIERNO
    3. AFROSUR
    5. RUMBÓN
  • 2017 Music On Vinyl